Billy quote LAPunk_FullCVRL.A. Punk Rocker has just been released. Its an anthology based on eighties Punk. All the writers from Los Angeles were involved in the punk music scene back in the day. There is one writer from the UK, Mark Barry who writes from Billy Idols point of View and it seems that first story is what Billy Idol was commenting on in his tweet. he wrote, Pretty wild chapter on memaybe u shouldve written my book, good luck with it..BFI 😉

Doesnt get too much better than that but that story does deserve the attention!

L.A. Punk Rocker

by Brenda Perlin, Mark Barry, Steven E. Metz, Deborah Hernandez-Runions and Cindy Jimenez Mora.

Fifteen stories of the punk era set in Los Angeles, written by LA Punk Queen Brenda Perlin and her friends who lived every moment of an electric era in the City of Angels. That unique and precious time when punk rock was more than just a rebellion.

Inside you’ll discover Billy Idol. Iggy Pop. X. U2. Bad Religion. Tales of local punk rockers on the brink of glorious fame. Late nights at the Roxy. Wild times at the Whiskey with some of the best rock ever.  Here you’ll find the in-your-face attitude, the clothes, the fashion, the sex, the music as hard as nails and fast as lightning.

Brenda and her friends were somewhere every night queuing backstage, in hotel rooms with the band, partying on the streets…and avoiding irate parents on school nights!

It’s all here.

LAPunkRocker. The next thing to being there…

Amazon US http://amzn.com/B011YSQ0WS

Amazon UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B011YSQ0WS

Interview with Brenda: bren
Tell us about the concept of the book. 

I wanted to take the reader back in time. Back to when I was a teenager and felt misunderstood and alienated. A time when nothing was better than the music and being on the streets of Hollywood in clubs or hanging out at our local dive, Oki Dog. When I  felt connected to something for the first time and for me this was my very first taste of freedom which was beyond empowering.

When did you have the idea for the book?

There would have been no L.A. Punk Rocker had Mark Barry not talked me into it. I had no intention on going back there but somehow he inspired me and got me excited. What can I say? The guy can be very good at convincing. I dont call him #MrWord for no reason.

Also, there is no way this book would have come out so well without the help of historical fiction novelist, Mary Ann Bernal. She is fearless! A spartan warrior princess. If not in this life, she could have been in her last. There is no one like her and I owe so much to her.

How do you know Mark Barry?LAPunk_CVR_MED

We met on Facebook. He contacted me requesting an interview after Shattered Reality was published for his Wizards Cauldron blog. At the time the book was called Home Wrecker so I think it was that title that caught his attention. Later, he asked me to write something for his anthology Reality Bites which inspired me to write my second book, Burnt Promises. Where are we without the people that inspire us???

I was so impressed because he was the only one at the time doing meaty interviews and shared the authors interests on the page with photos and videos. We have all copied that from him ever since. Sincerely, he is a wordsmith and there is something quite unique about his writing talent. There is brilliance in his work like an artist carving out a precious stone. He might not get discovered until he is dead and gone but I hope he knows how much I value him while he is on this great earth. Talent alone does not make this man special.

Can you give us an excerpt or tell us your favourite anecdote of the times?

Might as well share something from Mark Barrys One Night in Richmond Park.

You take a look at her in the mirror. A shock of spikey blonde hair every bit as platinum coloured as your own, back in the day. She hasnt changed a bit. No dye. Its real. All too real. Unbelievably gavelled cheekbones speed cheekbones, he thought at the time as if theyd been sculpted. Sharp as knives, those cheekbones. Virtually no body fat percentage. A face youd never stop touching, never stop kissing. A face that launched a thousand ships. Looking at her face was an aesthetic experience. Like art. You cant stop staring. Red lipstick and burning brown eyes sheltered underneath two stud-pierced eyebrows. Her vest obscures a black bra with two fashionably displayed straps clinging to angular, pallid shoulders.

Stunning. Well, she would be, wouldnt she, Billy? If you were her.

Which is your favourite story within the book? 

I love Steven E. Metz, Deborah Hernandez-Runions, and Cindy Jimenez Moras raw stories but I have to say if I had to pick a favorite it would be Mark Barrys last story in L.A. Punk Rocker, One Night in Richmond Park. It is breathtaking in my opinion. There is even a little bit of a paranormal fairly-dust sprinkled on to make it that much more unearthly.

How would you describe the theme or the message of the book?

I believe there are many messages. The love of music, walking to the beat of your own drum, not having to be like everyone else and for me, the best times of my life. It truly was. Cant remember ever having so much fun!

If you could go back in time – would you – if only for one night? If so, which night?bren

More than the music and the concerts, hanging out with The Who, David Bowie, U2, Iggy Pop and even standing RIGHT IN FRONT of BILLY IDOL it was all about the friends. Sitting in my girlfriends beaten down Datsun being together, laughing and sharing stories was the best. I mean, it was real friendship and it made the hard stuff not so bad.

Tell us a little about yourself as writer and as person.

I have been writing for years but mostly as a hobby. I spent my teenage years writing in coffee shops on paper napkins. Believe it or lot, though I sat and wrote for hours but I cant remember ever getting kicked out.

I have gone through a lot (I mean) A LOT in my life and had enough to fill a book so I wrote a trilogy, Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles.

Since things have calmed down I now write things that inspire me. I wrote a short story on child bullies, Ty the Bull with KD Emerson and another short story on rescuing stray dogs, Alex the Mutt.

Tell us about your writing history. When was the first time you decided to write and when was the first time you did?

My first story was written in elementary school, Alexandria the Great. It was about a young girl who was an outcast and bullied. Pretty much an ongoing theme to me. That is where Alex the Mutt got her name, Alexandria.

Did anyone influence you / encourage you to become a writer?

I would say Judy Blume was my big influence. As a chid it was a treat to go to the library and that is where I met Judy Blume. Her book, Are You There God Its Me Margaret changed my life. Made me not feel so alone and misunderstood.

When did you decide to write in your chosen genre(s)?

It spilled in my lap. I was going through a very dramatic breakup (divorce) and I had to get out my feelings somewhere, so my saving grace was writing about my misadventures and that is just what I did. Without the writing I am not sure how I would have survived the anguish and ongoing stress.

What is your life like outside of writing?

When I am not writing or busy with social media I actually have a very quiet, rewarding life. My boyfriend and I enjoy each others company so the little things are the best. We have travelled quite a bit in the last five years. Hopefully, one of these days we will make it down to you and so I can really call you a friend though there are no better than you Christoph. You are lovely in more ways than one.

What makes you laugh?

I love to act silly and to get slap-happy. Punch-drunk, I think they call it Doesn’t take much.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Right now it would have to be Billy Idol since my new release is L.A. Punk Rocker. Have you heard how he Tweeted me back the other night? He actually picked up L.A. Punk Rocker and wrote me back. I couldnt believe it was him but IT WAS HIM!

What song would you pick to go with your book?

It would have to be Rebel Yell by Billy Idol

https://youtu.be/VdphvuyaV_I

Newest Bio bren

Amazon Author Page http://amzn.to/1px1MZM

Brenda Perlin is an independent contemporary fiction author of five titles and numerous short stories. From novels to illustrated books, Brenda evokes passionate responses in her readers by using a provocatively unique writing style. Ever since Brenda was a child, she has been fascinated with the process. She draws her biggest inspiration from Judy Blume who sparked her obsession with pursuing personal expression through prose. Brenda has always lost herself in the world of literature, especially in coffee shops where she documented her ideas on paper napkins.

Her first series, the highly-acclaimed Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles, captures the soul-wrenching conflicts of a couple struggling for emotional fulfillment against those who would keep them apart. Next, Brenda ventured into the realm of graphic novellas with Ty the Bull, a story about a young boy who overcomes bullying, and Alex the Mutt, which explores the journey of love and loss of a beloved dog.

Brenda is diligently working on her next project while sipping hot lattes. She has replaced napkins with a laptop, but her enthusiasm hasn’t waned. All her works are available through Amazon.com and its subsidiaries.

LAPunkRocker. The next thing to being there…

Amazon US http://amzn.com/B011YSQ0WS

Amazon UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B011YSQ0WS

Shattered Reality (Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles: Book One)

When Brooklyn meets Bo, their lives are instantly turned upside down.

Brooklyn and Bo, each unhappily married to someone else, have to decide whether to stay with their spouses or give up everything for each other. Find out what Brooklyn’s husband and Bo’s soon-to-be ex-wife do to break them up.

Shattered Reality is the first book in a three part series that follows the main character, Brooklyn throughout her childhood, adult life and then what seems like an “endless” journey towards redemption.

ISBN: B00N54ON5Q

http://authl.it/2o9

US  http://amzn.com/B00N54ON5Q

UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00N54ON5Q

Burnt Promises (Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles: Book Two)

Bo and Brooklyn’s relationship is tested while Bo’s soon-to-be-ex wife continues to try to hold on for dear life. Bo’s ongoing divorce battle seems never-ending.

The main character, Brooklyn must learn many valuable lessons about herself, not without making many costly mistakes along the way. Now that she has found what she considered, her “soul-mate” in Bo, she would have to continue to defend herself against even her closest of friends, family members, and Bo’s soon-to-be ex-wife, Ruth.

This first person account chronicles the inexhaustible struggles she faces with the man that she loves. Brooklyn must learn a thing or two about patience as Bo’s divorce settlement seems to be never ending. Throughout her journey, Brooklyn shares some of Ruth’s intimate emails to Bo and gives you a good look into the mind of a woman scorned.

ISBN: B00N54OV0S

http://authl.it/2oa

US  http://amzn.com/B00N54OV0S

UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00N54OV0S

Fractured Vows (Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles: Book Three)

When love comes with a price…

A vengeful ex just won’t let go. Bo and Brooklyn’s worlds are turned upside down as they find themselves facing insanity in the form of an angry woman who loses all reason when she tries to destroy them.

ISBN: B00MYF379A

http://authl.it/2ob

US  http://amzn.com/B00MYF379A

UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00MYF379A

Ty the Bull

Age Level: 8 – 18 | Grade Level: 4 – 9

When Ty’s parents divorced, everything else in his life fell apart. Kids at school teased him about his name, the way his hair stood up in the front and just about anything else they could find to hurt him. Kids bullied him so much that he started ditching school and hanging out at the skate park. A skater named Peacock showed him how to be more confident and stand up for himself. He learned to fight off the bullies, made friends along the way and all by himself, Ty put the pieces of his own life back together.

ISBN: B00LK572S2

http://authl.it/2oc

US  http://amzn.com/B00LK572S2

UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00LK572S2

Alex the Mutt: From Death Row to Cozy Home

Alex the Mutt was the love of my life, but she could have been euthanized before having had a chance to live. Please join me on my journey to find love, and the emotional conflict I endured when forced to leave a dog behind.

These strays deserve more. All it takes is compassion and understanding. Too many animals are killed before their time, and this has got to end now.

If only more people would stop and think first before going to a pet store or breeder. Instead, visit a local rescue, pound, or shelter. It’s time to be their voice; please help spread the word.

ISBN: B00MXE62SU

http://authl.it/2od

US  http://amzn.com/B00MXE62SU

UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00MXE62SU