Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00042]

As some of you already know, I’ve contributed to an anthology called PUNK ROCKER, the much anticipated sequel to “L.A. Punk Rocker”: top author Brenda Perlin’s best-selling punk anthology.

The book is available on Amazon

US https://amzn.com/B01FCBBC6W

UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01FCBBC6W

In the next few weeks,  I will introduce the other authors who are in on the project.

Today I have Alan Wynofsky Wynzel. I’m a huge fan of his writing, which I discovered almost by accident via a tweet. I have sung his praises ever since and interviewed and reviewed him on my blog before. For my previous interview with Alan follow this link

 

Alan Wynzel

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FM254KM

https://twitter.com/alanwynzel

Welcome back Alan. Tell us, how did you get involved in the PUNK ROCKER project?

I volunteered a story.

 

What are your favorite Punk Acts, Albums and Songs?

The Clash, The Sex Pistols, MC5, The Stooges.

 

Are you like any of the characters (and how so)?

I am always the main character because I can’t pretend to get inside anyone else’s head but my own.  And even then, I’m not so sure I’m not fooling myself.

What do you do when you don’t write?

Disintegrating slowly at a crappy job.

What makes you laugh?

The answers I give to writer’s questionnaires.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Anyone willing to pay.

 

Who are your favourite authors?

Bukowski, Hemingway, Vonnegut, Celine, Sherwood Anderson, Carson McCullers.

Thanks Alan. Looking forward to being published in the same book as you. 

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FM254KM

https://twitter.com/alanwynzel

For my previous interview with Alan follow this link

 

 

I accidentally stumbled upon Alan’s book via a tweet and am pleased I am able to share this remarkable memoir with you.

18659300
“When I Was German” by Alan Wynzel is a bitter sweet childhood memoir of a young man growing up in his own private war zone that is the marriage between his German mother and his Jewish father in America during the 1960s and 1970s.

It is a moving tale about a child caught in the parent’s volatile relationship, the clash of their cultures and personalities and the resulting identity issues for the young men brought on by conflicting ideas and role models.
Wynzel’s perception of the Jewish and the German cultures is a very interesting perspective and one that benefits particularly from being told by the point of view of an adolescent. His childhood fantasies, his perception of films and comments about Germans in the US (particularly about the 1976 Munich Olympics hostage drama) and the descriptions of the family holidays in Germany are insightful, heart breaking and thought provoking. Being German myself and living abroad – even twenty years later than this book’s story – I can relate to many of the author’s experiences.

Wynzel does an excellent job at describing his experiences realistically and honestly, making this an engaging and compelling page turner for me. This is an interesting and unique life story that deserves to be told and read.

For an interview with the author follow this link

