Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00042]

As some of you already know, I’ve contributed to an anthology called PUNK ROCKER, the much anticipated sequel to “L.A. Punk Rocker”: top author Brenda Perlin’s best-selling punk anthology.

In the next few weeks, leading up to the release on May 15th, I will introduce the other authors who are in on the project. Today I have  Janet Lee.

me3

My name is Janet, I grew up in the San Fernando Valley. I went to Catholic school, including an all-Girl High School off Mullholland Drive. I was always a bit left of center. I can’t recall if it was late Junior High or early High School, but I do recall Rodney on the Rock.. and looking forward to each show to listen to new and different bands. Surfing and Skateboarding were on the rise, and my taste started there and morphed many times over. Bowie, The Ventures, the Dickies, B52s, Fear, Dead Kennedys, I remember them all like old friends. Times were so different then. Eventually too many people were overdosing or falling into decay (my opinion only), then came reggae, another intro via Punk Rock and the skate crowd. Somehow it happened, I preferred the stoned love to the angry outcry. As I watch the ongoing challenges we face from the elections to the environment, I know now we have to balance anger with action, curses with change (again just my opinion). I have three grown children that I love like life itself. They have saved me and changed me and made me a better person. I dedicate all that I am and all that I will ever be to them. Old age (I made it proudly to 53) agrees with me. I am even better now at owning my opinions and limiting who’s opinion I value. That’s a nice way of saying I don’t care what people think these days.
I can be found on facebook under Janet Lee 

How did you get involved in the PUNK ROCKER project?

Brenda and I met through Perry Anderson.

Without giving too much away, tell us about your short story for the anthology.

It was hard to decide which crazy story to tell, but I opted for humor over drama

Can you explain what Punk means to you? Do you have any more memories you would like to share with us?

Punk taught me to think for myself. I am not a supporter of anarchy, but I can respect and accept an opposing opinion. Punk taught me to love myself, all madness and quirkiness included. The stories are like jewels, glittering in my memories that are sometimes more vivid than others. Love to all the people that contributed to the lessons I needed to learn, whether that was kicking ass or getting ass kicked, helping me grow or helping to pick me up when I fell, and one special shout to Perry who said he’d break my arm if I ever tried some of the dumb crap that he did. As much as you have said I saved you, you also saved me.

What are your favorite Punk Acts, Albums and Songs?

The clash – London Calling , Police and Thieves , Death or Glory
Dead Kennedys – Holiday in Cambodia
Fear – I love livin in the city or We got to get out of this place
Ramones – Sheena Is A Punk Rocker
X – Los Angeles
XRAy Spex Oh Bondage? Up Yours

Why type of fiction do you normally write? Tell us about the concept behind your books?

This is my first public fictional contribution. I have a history with technical documentation.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

I’m currently reading several books: Diana Gabaldon, Written In my own Blood, Backyard Pharmacy by Elizabeth Millard, If Someone Says “you complete me” run! By Whoopi Goldberg and I recently finished Reckless by Chrissie Hynde

What are you working on now? me3

Currently I’m working in Escalation Management for a large tech company. In my preferred time, I work in my garden, knit, cook, read, listen to a wide variety of music and generally try to make the world a better place, one smile at a time.

