Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00042]

As some of you already know, I’ve contributed to an anthology called PUNK ROCKER, the much anticipated sequel to “L.A. Punk Rocker”: top author Brenda Perlin’s best-selling punk anthology.

In the next few weeks, leading up to the release on May 15th, I will introduce the other authors who are in on the project. Today I have Brenda Perlin. Welcome Brenda. Without giving too much away, tell us about your short story for the anthology.imagejpeg_0

I wrote two stories for Punk Rocker. One is called No Future where I reminisce on meeting Billy Idol and let’s say I was a bit disappointed. The other one, Godzilla’s is about a club that opened where I got to see bands like The Damned, T.S.O.L. and Bad Religion do their sound checks. It was a thrilling time in my life.

Can you explain what Punk means to you? Do you have any more memories you would like to share with us?

Punk is an attitude and a lifestyle. A love of music and the scene. In the early days it felt good being accepted even though I was different. Being a punk meant individuality and freedom. It was the first time I ever felt okay being who I was. It became tough on my parents but it was enlightening to me.

What are your favorite Punk Acts, Albums and Songs?

Generation X, The Clash, The Damned, Iggy Pop, Siouxsie and the Banshees, X, Sex Pistols, and so many more. I was big into local bands like Black Flag, Adolescence, Circle Jerks. I was friends with Bad Religion. Went around with them in their van when they rehearsed. Never thought they would be more than a garage band but I was so wrong.

Why type of fiction do you normally write? Tell us about the concept behind your books?

My books are published under Blossoming Press. They all seem to have coming-of-age themes . I’m drawn to the outcast and explore feelings of being misunderstood.

I’ve written my rocky life story in Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles, my love of rescuing dogs in Alex the Mutt, my dislike of bullies in Ty the Bull and thanks to author Mark Barry who encouraged me to explore my punk days I go back in time and share my passion for music in L.A. Punk Rocker.

Tell us about one of your main characters. What makes them special?

My characters tend to be working on themselves and understanding the things they lack. They are special because they don’t try to be anything other than who they are. I like to dive into the human existence and what makes us all unique. There is a vulnerability in that and it interests me.

Who would you cast to play the characters in a movie?

That’s easy. I have a board on Pinterest for Shattered Reality.

What do you do when you don’t write?

Eat a lot. Exercise to make up for all that eating. Hang out with my guy and friends. Travel whenever possible and read read read!

What makes you laugh?doc iv

I do love to laugh. I like raw humor. I like simple humor like James Corden’s Carpool Karaoke. Pure pleasure. https://youtu.be/Nck6BZga7TQ

I also like smart humor like Eddie Izzard’s stand up.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

YOU!!!! Hahahahah. I would love that. We could include Mark Barry and Mary Ann Bernal. Come to think of it, the best would be having a dinner with all the contributors of Punk Rocker! We would have a lot to talk about. Billy Idol would have to be there too. Need I say why????

What would your friends say are your best and your oddest quality?

Sincerity and compassion. At least I hope my friends would agree with that assessment. My oddest quality might be my laugh. Enough said.

What would you chose as those qualities?

I do have heart. I care and I think that is a good thing.

What is your favourite book?

Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy always stands out for me. I adore the honesty he writes with and the vulnerability. I love when a man can show his vulnerable side. It’s very appealing.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

I recently finished Mary Ann Bernal’s Scribbler Tales: Escape From Berlin. I love her stories of betrayal, romance and espionage. She is quite gifted writing from the dark side.

I hope to be reading your new release African August, though I believe I will have to wait for that.

What are you working on now? 

The proof of Punk Rocker comes in on Wednesday so that is what I will be reading. I am rather excited because the release date is soon approaching.

Thank you Christoph for your support and your great contribution to Punk Rocker. I am so pleased you were open to share that portion of your life. I couldn’t be any more delighted. I am pretty pleased with how it’s come together. It’s a great mix and I think people will appreciate if not just the narratives about the music and the times but also the human side to these stories.

 

Author bioimagejpeg_0

 

Brenda Perlin is an independent contemporary fiction author of six titles and numerous short stories. From novels to illustrated books, Brenda’s provocatively unique writing style evokes passionate responses in her readers. Ever since she was a child, Brenda has been fascinated with the writing process. She draws her biggest inspiration from Judy Blume who sparked her obsession with pursuing personal expression through prose. Brenda has always lost herself in the world of literature, especially in coffee shops where she documents her ideas on paper napkins.

Author social media links

Amazon Author page

http://amzn.to/1x7sOq7

Website for Brenda Perlin

http://www.brendaperlin.com

Website for Blossoming Press

http://www.blossomingpress.com

Blog

http://brooklynandbo.com

Twitter

https://twitter.com/BrooklynandBo

Facebook Pages

Blossoming Press

Alex the Mutt

Ty the Bull

Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles

Goodreads

http://bit.ly/1i0zNKl

Google +

http://bit.ly/1AlUg8m

Links for L.A. Punk Rocker

Amazon US http://amzn.com/B011YSQ0WS

Amazon UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B011YSQ0WS

