Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00042]

As some of you already know, I’ve contributed to an anthology called PUNK ROCKER, the much anticipated sequel to “L.A. Punk Rocker”: top author Brenda Perlin’s best-selling punk anthology.

PUNK ROCKER has just been released on Amazon

US https://amzn.com/B01FCBBC6W

UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01FCBBC6W

In the next few weeks, I will introduce the other authors who are in on the project. Today I have Mark Barry. How did you get involved in the PUNK ROCKER project? Mark Author MB

I am a long standing friend of Brenda’s and a big fan of her “faction” books, particularly the middle one, Burnt Promises, which is hilariously indiscreet.  After the books were completed, she was thinking of leaving writing behind and joining the cast of The Real Housewives of Orange County, and I couldn’t have her not writing again, so knowing Brenda was a serious punk in the eighties, I suggested she write about that. She went away and thought about it and LAPR was born. I adore Brenda – she’s the business, as we say over here.

Without giving too much away, tell us about your short story for the anthology.

I have written two. One about Billy Idol’s love of motorbikes and one about an omniscient leather Jacket who was there for every key moment in punk rock.

What are your favorite Punk Acts, Albums and Songs?

Rebel Yell by Billy Idol. Bank Robber by The Clash. Sex Pistols – Pretty Vacant, Anarchy and God Save the Queen and The Ruts – Babylon’s Burning are my favourite punk moments. Love the Pistols. Incredible power and energy. I also love Motorhead, which is punk to the max and I am quite partial to Korn who are ultra-punk in a weird way.

Why type of fiction do you normally write? Tell us about the concept behind your books?

I write Contemporary Fiction which attempts to combine excellent writing with commentaries about the way we are now.  Because of this, I am always one step away from living in a dumpster behind the local supermarket. I live on the contents of the Co-op discount shelf and have done for years. Anyone for Happy Tears Romance Novels?

What do you do when you don’t write?

Bet on racehorses, try and enthuse schoolkids with the concept that reading is fun, write CVs for unemployed people, eat whole KFC buckets, drink cider by the gallon and follow Notts County Football Club around the country along with my son, brother and a merry band of overaged football hooligans.

What makes you laugh?

People who can’t write labelling themselves writers on Facebook, and strangely -shaped vegetable memes.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Britney Spears, Anton Chekhov, and the racehorse Sir Percy

What would your friends say are your best and your oddest quality?

I’m very loyal but a bit bonkers.

Who are your favourite authors?

Too many to mention – I don’t watch TV at all and spend my time reading, so in Trad: Martin Amis. Tom McCarthy. Amy Hempel. Liz Jensen. Scarlett Thomas. Cormac McCarthy and Alan Moore (comics and graphic novels) – a genius of geniuses.

In Indie, Brenda can show me her laundry list and I’ll read it, I enjoy Georgia Rose’s highly readable romance suspense novels, the surreal world of Phil Conquest, Terry Tyler’s modern relationship fiction and from your part of the world, Lorraine Devon Wilke’s contemporary family dramas – that woman should be on the telly.

What is your favourite book?

Money by Martin Amis. I read it once per year.  Flawless. The UK’s best writer at the top of his game.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

Rereading London Fields by Martin Amis. Paperback.

What are you working on now? 

Nothing. I have severe writer’s block (which I think is philosophical and spiritual in nature) and apart from Punk Rocker, I have not written a word in over a year. The relative failure of my last book, which is a well-received and reviewed experimental crime novel, to make any money has had an impact on my willingness to write novels. So I have taken up experimental gardening and the creation of memes.

Blog: http://greenwizardpublishing.blogspot.co.uk/

Author Page. Amazon.Uk: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mark-Barry/e/B008479RWI/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1425158526&sr=8-2-ent

Twitter: @GreenWizard62 Mark Author MB

Mark Barry is a multi-genre writer and novelist. His work includes the minor cult hit Ultra Violence about football hooligans at a small Midlands football club and Carla, a quirky, dark, acclaimed romance with shades of Wuthering Heights. He wrote two stories about Billy Idol in the original LA Punk Rocker. He has one son, Matt, reading politics at University.

Fast food, comics, music, reading, his friends on the Independent scene, and horse racing keep him interested and he detests the English Premier League, selfish, narcissistic people and bullies of all kinds. 

He is based in Nottingham and Southwell, UK, the scene of much of his fiction.

 

 

 

 

