Today I would like to share my review of “Cold Feet Fever” by Maureen Fisher, a wonderful writer who is no stranger to this blog. Remember her from this post and this post?

Her Fever Series books are romances with an underlying mystery, crime, dogs with personality, and always humor. Maureen writes fun romance novels because our world needs more love & laughter.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00074]

“Darlin’, that feels real good. Hoo-eee, you surely do have magic fingers.” The masculine voice, Southern with a twist, was clearly audible over the commotion.

That’s the first paragraph of Cold Feet Fever, described as “… the perfect blend of romance, comedy and mystery.”

A commitment-challenged party animal, gambler, and player, Sam Jackson hides his insecurities behind charm, avoidance, and Jack Daniels.

What could be more fun than tormenting a serial womanizer like Sam by pairing him with a heroine who would drive him crazy while breaking down all his barriers? So Maureen threw in a bossy undertaker-turned-event-planner hired by his eccentric Granddaddy Hiram (also business partner) to keep him on the straight and narrow. Since she delights in torturing her protagonists, she added as many roadblocks to a happily-ever-after as she could think of.

My review:

This has all the ingredients for a wonderful hilarious comedy. It’s hard to write characters who have an on/off chemistry and Fisher does so convincingly and very entertaingly. She takes her time letting the two people (who have to share an office with each other against their will) establish their opposing characters. They have things in common and then they haven’t. Until the adventure starts and takes them from outrageous situation to drama and action. Add a cute rascal of a dog and you have a great recipr for a warm and enjoyable read.
I love Fisher’s other books and was glad to have found this. It does what it says on the tin, and then some.

 

Here is an excerpt from Cold Feet Fever:

“I love that you’re nervous.” Sam’s voice had roughened to a husky growl. “It makes what we’re about to do extra special.”

Katie twisted her neck to assess whether or not he was mocking her, and found herself staring at his mouth. Her breath hitched in her chest. “I’m worried I might disappoint you.”

His fingers stilled against the fasteners clamping the back of her dress closed. “Why on earth would you think that?”

“I may not have the skill you expect in a date.”

After a long pause, he said, “Excuse me?” The two soft words reverberated in the quiet kitchen.

She chewed her lip, then said, “I’ve only done it twice, well, two and a half times to be precise, and it didn’t work out so well.” She clamped her mouth shut. Luckily she’d caught herself before divulging her partner’s jackrabbit ejaculation. Afraid to turn around, she elaborated. “I was too young to realize it wasn’t normal. I thought it was my fault. There’s no need to worry, though. I’m sure I can satisfy your needs. I’m a self-trained expert on sexual gratification.”

Warm breath stirred her hair. “Self-trained?”

Had she said something wrong? “Yes. I’m a voracious reader. I’ve read tons of how-to books on sexual intercourse, everything from The Joy of Sex, to Kama Sutra.” She hoped her sincerity would reassure him.

“Katie—”

“I also studied the Fifty Shades Trilogy and other erotic novels. I have a subscription to Cosmo, too. There’s a huge amount of educational help available, so I’m certain I’m competent.” Was it her imagination, or did his fingers fumble?

“That’s commendable and, uh, extremely proactive of you,” he said in a choked voice. “But right now, I’m as far from worried as a man can get.”

Where to Buy Maureen Fisher’s Books: Maureen-2016-Headshot

I have three sassy romance books (Fur Ball Fever, Cold Feet Fever, and The Jaguar Legacy), all available in print and every ebook format. For descriptions and buy links, check out http://booksbymaureen.com/my-books/

Maureen Fisher’s Contact Information:

Website –  http://booksbymaureen.com/

Facebook Author Page – https://www.facebook.com/MaureenFisherAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorMaureen

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/845094.Maureen_Fisher