silently stillI came cross Julieanne when she wrote action packed Vampire fare, and really good one at that. I’m pleased to introduce her as multi-facetted author and present you with her new book.

My review:

“Silently Still” by Julianne Lynch is a very moving story. Told with jumps in the time line Lynch tells us the story of Jacinta Kelly, a young woman with a lot on her plate. Can she live in a small community in rural Ireland, can she cope with her mother’s illness, what is it she really wants? In that respect the book serves also as a well thought through character study.
A coming of age story of of loss and bravery, reflective and thoughtful, this is written with great sensitivity and insight into human nature. This is a tale that will pull on your heart strings, that will make you smile as well as cry and it comes with a rewarding ending. A moody and thoughtful literary gem, highly recommended.

The blurb:
Everyone is entitled to making their own choices in life, but a decision can make or break you. For Jacinta Kelly, hers came in the form of running away from everything that reminded her of her roots.
Living in rural Ireland was hard enough, but living with her mother’s mental illness and her obsession with her garden took its toll. One winter, the world as she knows it changes. Jacinta becomes aware of her own mortality, and how fragile her existence truly is.
Alone and frightened; to live or die, the choice is hers.

Purchase Links –

iBooks:http://apple.co/1dDvPKy
Amazon: smarturl.it/SilentlyStill
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1HyfsIO
Interview with Julieann. Welcome to my blog. Please tell us a little about yourself as writer and as a person. Julieanne Lynch 2015

As a writer I am meticulous when it comes to planning and researching long before I begin drafting my work. I take pride in the books that I produce and feel it pertinent to ensure that the genre I’m writing in best represents the work and message I am trying to portray. As a person I am probably a bit of a control freak. I think I drive my husband, children and extended family mad. But I get the job done and I think I do a wonderful job in raising the children whilst my husband works away. I maintain the balance between my writing life and family life quite well, but do enjoy slipping off to indulge in reading. I love to read.

Tell us about your writing history. When was the first time you decided to write and when was the first time you did?

I’ve been writing for much of my life. From the age of eleven, I knew that I wanted to write, I just didn’t know that it would become a calling and a way of life until I entered my 30’s.

My first novel was published in 2011 and it has been a whirlwind journey ever since.

Did anyone influence you / encourage you to become a writer?

When I was sixteen, I used to take extra English and my tutor at the time noticed my love of literature. He gave me a limited edition of Great Expectations and told me to follow my dreams. I owe much of my gratitude to him- Joe Rice. His belief in me and my abilities has been something that has encouraged and inspired me, especially when I hit moments of self doubt. He passed away earlier this year and his death has left a profound emptiness, but I dedicated my latest novel to him and that gives me great comfort.

Tell us about the concept behind your books. How did you get the idea?

Much of what I see, taste, hear, touch and experience influences the original ideas behind my books. For example, my latest novel, Silently Still, came to life on a family holiday to the Donegal coast in 2013. I knew the moment I stood on the cliffs, overlooking Tory Island that I would write a novel based there. It’s as though when inspiration hits, it pulls me in and refuses to let me go, not until I have allowed my characters to tell their story.

What is your life like outside of writing? silently still

My life is hectic! I am a mother of five

What makes you laugh?

My children, GoggleBox, Alan Carr. I also adore Graham Norton and love nothing more than being told rude jokes.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Madonna, Oprah Winfrey, Hugh Jackman, Edgar Allen Poe, Miley Cyrus & The Pope.

What are you working on now? 

I’m currently writing a novel called “Beneath the Lighthouse”, which is a ghost story set in Northern Ireland. It follows the life of my male protagonist, Jamie McGuiness, who is struggling to come to terms with the death (murder) of his younger sister. He, however, in his grief has become the target of a spirit who intends on using him to reveal the killer.

You have created great characters. Which one is your favourite?

Out of all my characters, I can honestly say that my favourite is Antoine Vilniv, hands down! He is unusual, charismatic, unpredictable and a complete joy to write. I found it hard saying goodbye when I completed the Shadow World series.

Are you like any of the characters (and how so)?

In a sense I think that there is a part of me in each of my characters. There are little personality traits of mine visible in all of them. But I do have a deeper connection to Jacinta. Much of her darkness is representation of everything I’ve been through. Her struggles mirrors much of my own, but so does her strength. I guess this is one of the main reasons I enjoyed writing her story so much.


What is your main reason for writing?

I write because it is something that brings great joy and meaning to my life. My books, whether in the beginning stage or published stage is an achievement, and I celebrate each step of the way. Without my writing, I doubt I would be happy.

How have you found the experience of self-publishing? What were your highs and lows?

Self publishing became a choice after I decided that being signed to a small press wasn’t for me. I will not say that is has been easy, but it has been worthwhile and taught me more about the industry and community than I had been aware of prior to going it alone.

I’ve had many highs:

Seeing my book rank and become a bestseller

Having absolute control over the covers, editing and formatting.

Being my own boss.

Some of the lows, though few:

Being at the mercy of reviewers, industry professionals and generally being alone. But the good far outweigh the bad.

What is your advice to new writers?

Read as much as you can, preferably in the genre you wish to write.

Join writing clubs, join a book club. Write every day, regardless of whether you are in the mood or not. You can be amazed at how wonderful a few lines can make you feel. But never force it. Allow your characters to speak to you.

Take time out. Remember to unwind: watch a film, eat a nice meal, and enjoy the company of those you love.

Don’t over analyse what you’ve written. Write the kind of books you want to read. Don’t allow other’s negativity to influence how you see yourself or your work.

Be the best representation of your work and above all else, enjoy the journey.

Who are your favourite independent writers?

Oh I have many. But here are a few:

Cat Miller

Amy Miles

Jennifer Malone Wright

Joseph Eastwood

Becket

Who are your favourite authors?

Anne Rice, James Patterson, Richelle Mead, Charlaine Harris, Rachel Caine, Lee Child, Leigh Russell & Alice Walker.

What is your favourite book?

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

Currently I’m reading Prince Lestat by Anne Rice, in paperback.

Hot or cold?

Hot

Salty or sweet?

Salty

How do you handle criticism of your work?

I’m quite good with handling criticism. In the “old” days, I used to get so terribly upset, cry, eat my feelings and insist that I will never write again. But nowadays, I’m much more robust and accept that not everyone will like or enjoy what I write. Everyone is different and I liken my work to Marmite – you will either love it or hate it.

Author Links:

http://www.julieannelynch.co.uk

http://www.facebook.com/AuthorJulieanneLynch

http://www.twitter.com/JulieanneLynch

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4721654.Julieanne_Lynch

Author Bio: Julieanne Lynch 2015

Julieanne Lynch is an author of urban fantasy books for both adults and teens. Julieanne lives in Northern Ireland, with her husband and five children, where she works on her novels full-time. Before becoming a writer, she considered a few different career paths, a rock star being one of them. She studied English Literature and Creative Writing at The Open University, and considered journalism as a career path. However, she decided writing was the way for her and is thankful for each day she lives her dream.

Silently Still:

Blurb –

Everyone is entitled to making their own choices in life, but a decision can make or break you. For Jacinta Kelly, hers came in the form of running away from everything that reminded her of her roots.
Living in rural Ireland was hard enough, but living with her mother’s mental illness and her obsession with her garden took its toll. One winter, the world as she knows it changes. Jacinta becomes aware of her own mortality, and how fragile her existence truly is.
Alone and frightened; to live or die, the choice is hers.

Purchase Links –

iBooks:http://apple.co/1dDvPKy
Amazon: smarturl.it/SilentlyStill
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1HyfsIO

A glimpse of Julieanne’s other work, here’s my review of “Within the Shadows” :

10804414“Within the Shadows” by J.A. Lynch is an action packed Vampire story about 18 year old Giselle who discovers just before her prom that her boyfriend of four years, Marc, slept with another girl. With help from her best friend Alexander she exposes him on prom night only to find that Alexander is a Vampire and intends to turn her.
She follows Alexander into his world of shadows where she learns that she is a new breed of mortal Vampires and is destined to marry Alexander to help him and his kind to bring peace to their quarrelsome existence. But not everything is as it seems and her loyalties and feelings keep turning as the story develops further.
Although the themes of the book are not innovative I must say that it has entertained me much more than I thought it would. The story is well written, fast paced and unpredictable enough to have kept my interest up throughout. I was surprised that there were so many erotic scenes after the story began so innocently in a high school setting but it fitted the plot well. The characters and the dialogue were believable and realistic within the genre and I am happy to give this book a 5 star rating for it does everything you would expect from a good vampire story and it does it well.