I recently linked one of my books to a group of 17 authors in a medical thriller box set and am still reading my way through the collection. I must admit I was most curious about Uvi Poznansky’s contribution to the set, since I’m a long standing fan of her sharp and gripping writing. So I grabbed Overdose from her twitter feed and downloaded it.


Months after recovering from coma, Ash discovers that the man who performed her brain surgery has a questionable medical experience and a dark past, starting with his medical mission in India, 10 years ago, and ending just recently, with his wife’s suicide. Should Ash expose him at the risk of becoming vulnerable to his revenge?

In an attempt to learn more, Ash goes on a date with him. When the waitress drops a pink cellphone into her hand, she is hit by a bullet. On the cellphone are his wife’s last words: “Perhaps, you have the urge to shut me off or, at least, to ignore what I’m about to say. But listen you must, because even if you don’t believe it, you’re already much too close to danger…. Neil is my undoing. Make sure he isn’t yours.”

My review:
I read “Overdose” by Uvi Poznansky within one day, it was that gripping and addictive.
Not having read the previous books in the Ash suspense series made no difference. The mystery about Dr Patel, his questionable professional and personal background, and just what kind of game is being played between him and Ash was an immediate hook.
Ash is a very honest and real character with a strong and often cynical voice – for me yet another perfect narrator. It is these raw feelings that make the characters and their observation so fascinating, the thing I like most about Uvi’s books. Ash’s interaction with her opponent and her boyfriend are excellent; she’s playing with fire, letting us look into her mind while outwardly playing a different game – very well done. The plot drives along fast and furious in a web of deceit and confusion without ever dropping the ball or tension.
A great thriller and a series to watch out for.

Uvi Poznansky

About Uvi Poznansky

Uvi Poznansky is a USA TODAY bestselling, award-winning author, poet and artist. “I paint with my pen,” she says, “and write with my paintbrush.” Her romantic suspense box set, Love Under Fire, made the USA TODAY bestselling list, as did her medical thriller box set, Do No Harm; and her romance box set, A Touch of Passion, was the 2016 WINNER of The Romance Reviews Readers’ Choice Awards.

Education and work:
Uvi earned her B. A. in Architecture and Town Planning from the Technion in Haifa, Israel and practiced with an innovative Architectural firm, taking a major part in the large-scale project, called Home for the Soldier.

Having moved to Troy, N.Y. with her husband and two children, Uvi received a Fellowship grant and a Teaching Assistantship from the Architecture department at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. There, she guided teams in a variety of design projects and earned her M.A. in Architecture. Then, taking a sharp turn in her education, she earned her M.S. degree in Computer Science from the University of Michigan.

She worked first as an architect, and later as a software engineer, software team leader, software manager and a software consultant (with an emphasis on user interface for medical instruments devices.) All the while, she wrote and painted constantly, and exhibited in Israel and California. In addition, she taught art appreciation classes. Her versatile body of work includes bronze and ceramic sculptures, oil and watercolor paintings, charcoal, pen and pencil drawings, and mixed media.

Books and Genres:
Ash Suspense Thrillers with a Dash of Romance is a suspense series. It includes Coma Confidential, Virtually Lace, and Overdose.

Still Life with Memories is a family saga series with touches of romance. The series includes My Own Voice, The White Piano, The Music of Us, Dancing with Air, and Marriage before Death.

Still Life with Memories Bundle series includes volume I, Apart from Love (My Own Voice+The White Piano); and volume II: Apart from War (The Music of Us+Dancing with Air+Marriage before Death.)

The David Chronicles is a historical fiction series with a modern twist. It includes three novels–Rise to Power, A Peek at Bathsheba, and The Edge of Revolt–and six art through the ages collections, describing each moment of the story.

Her poetry book, Home, is in tribute to her father. Her collection of dark tales, Twisted, and her Historical Fiction book, A Favorite Son, are both new age, biblically inspired books. In addition, Uvi wrote and illustrated two children books, Jess and Wiggle and Now I Am Paper. For each one of these books, she created an animation video (find them on YouTube and on her Goodreads page.)