“The Yankee Years: Books 1 – 3” by Dianne Ascroft introduces Ruth Corey, a young woman in County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland in 1941, just as an American aircraft base is being secretly built in the area. Ruth’s boyfriend Harry is a journalist who seems to take a special interest in this secret endeavour. Her loyalties are tested when she realises that he might trade his knowledge about the plans, which could have huge repercussions for the course of the war.
The other two books in this omnibus edition deal with similar personal conflicts within the setting of WW2 in Northern Ireland.
Although published as three books, due to the length I’d describe this work more as three connected novellas or short stories.  The historical and political facts are plentiful and make for some informative and very rewarding reading experience, with excellent background research and attention to detail. I chose this book because I knew little of this particular theatre of war and I was not disappointed. The stories are somewhat linear and focus more on the human aspects of war as well as on the romantic relationships portrayed.  While I sometimes would have liked the historical aspects to take more centre stage to the romance parts, I found myself rather engaged in these books and enjoyed them to an extent that I rarely do with historical romances. Ashcroft has chosen some interesting and fascinating aspects of WW2 and should find grateful readers in those curious to know more about WW2 in Northern Ireland.

Dianne Ascroft biography:

Dianne Ascroft writes historical and contemporary fiction, often with an Irish connection. Her series The Yankee Years is a collection of Short Reads and novels set in World War II Northern Ireland. After the Allied troops arrived in this outlying part of Great Britain, life there would never be the same again. The series strives to bring those heady, fleeting years to life again, in thrilling and romantic tales of the era.

Her other writing includes a ghost tale inspired by the famous Northern Irish legend of the Coonian ghost, An Unbidden Visitor; a short story collection, Dancing Shadows, Tramping Hooves, and an historical novel, Hitler and Mars Bars.

Dianne lives on a small farm, in Northern Ireland, with her husband and an assortment of strong-willed animals. When she’s not writing, she enjoys walks in the countryside, evenings in front of her open fireplace and folk and traditional music.

Media links:


Website and blog: www.dianneascroft.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/DianneAscroftwriter

Twitter: www.twitter.com/DianneAscroft

Newsletter signup: http://eepurl.com/bn_Bjz

Amazon book links:


paperback – https://www.amazon.com/Yankee-Years-Books-1-3/dp/1907530487

Ebook – https://www.amazon.com/Yankee-Years-Boxset-Books-1-3-ebook/dp/B01KG84NZ8

paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/Books/Yankee-Years-1-3-Dianne-Ascroft/1907530487

Ebook –