51GHSFqaxuL._SY346_.jpg

I must say that I had my doubts that I could learn much from a book about book fairs, having organised a few and having participated in many. I read the book more out of curiosity than out of a feeling that I needed to improve my sales or presentation techniques.
Well, I’m not afraid to admit that I was very wrong.

As the latest review on Amazon puts it, the book is
“a short but well thought-through introduction to book fair participation, aimed at authors new to the book fair circuit. There’s much more to this than sitting on your table and waiting for the books to sell, as Watkins rightfully point out. He gives an insightful reflection on the whole purpose of book fairs from the author’s perspective and then lists a lot of excellent ideas how to get the most out of it….”

I agree with the author of this review. Watkins makes you take a step back from the idea that the highest number of books sold are the only way to measure success of your participation in a book fair or that even selling books was the sole purpose of you going there in the first place.
There is much more to it, from networking to growing into your role as author. Watkins shares a lot of minor and major tricks of the trade. It truly is
“A must read for authors and a useful check list of sorts for your next visit to a book fair.”

Buy the book on Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Art-Book-Fair-Authors-Selling-ebook/dp/B0714HM433

or Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Art-Book-Fair-Authors-Selling-ebook/dp/B0714HM433

 

