After meeting Jodi at the Llandeilo Lit Fest I’m back on this series, having read and reviewed book one here recently.

Here is Jean Gill’s review of book 8. Jean was also at the festival and held a talk about 12th Century figures in literature and is a reliable source for reviews:

“History and relationships explode, comic and tragic in turn

I confess to binge reading the whole series so far (apart from the shorts, which are not my cup of tea – a St Mary’s metaphor if ever there was one) and I still want more. I love and am irritated by the main characters in equal measure. I can never predict what twists of time and relationship will be served up. I love witnessing key historical moments along with the St Mary’s team and the mix of humour, trivia and real emotion is addictive.

I’m just back from listening to Jodi Taylor at the Llandeilo Festival and she said she doesn’t want her readers to assume that any character is safe. I think this is part of what keeps me turning those pages. I really want to know what happens, dark or not! And parts of Book 8 are dark! 18198662_1344149172344116_321136435434959249_n

If you love history as I do, you have to read this book for the Battle of Hastings – a tour-de-force! I really felt as if I was there with Max, witnessing this turning point of English history in all its gore and glory. Jodi Taylor makes history come alive and I can’t wait for my next time trip in one of those pods that smell of cabbage and are well-stocked with tea.”

Blurb:

No one knows quite how, but Max and her baby are safe at last.

No one knows quite how, but Peterson has persuaded Dr Foster to marry him.

No one knows quite how, but Markham’s marital status remains unknown.

Certainly no one knows quite how a twelve-foot-high teapot could mysteriously materialise on the South Lawn, but it does.

But they do know that Clive Ronan is back.

They do know that he hates them and that this time he has good cause. And they do know that he will bring death and destruction in his wake.

Follow the disaster magnets of St Mary’s from the Egyptian desert to the Battle of Stamford Bridge, from Hastings to the Sack of Constantinople, and from tragedy to triumph and back again, in this, the eighth book in The Chronicles of St Mary’s.

Jodi Taylor jodi-taylor-cropped-headshot

Website
Twitter

Jodi Taylor is, and always has been, a complete history nut. It takes vast amounts of chocolate to get her out of bed for anything after 1485. And if it’s raining, there’s no chance.

Habitually tongue-tied when asked to talk about herself, she gets round this by describing herself as tall, incredibly beautiful, witty and technically proficient.

The Chronicles of St Mary’s –

Just One Damned Thing After Another
A Symphony Of Echoes
A Second Chance
A Trail Through Time
No Time Like The Past (published in Feb 2015)

St Mary’s Short Stories –

When A Child Is Born
Roman Holiday
Christmas Present

Romance Novels

The Nothing Girl
Little Donkey (Short Story)

You can catch up with all the latest happenings on her Facebook page –

www.facebook.com/AuthorJodiTaylor.com

