Today I give  my blog over to fellow blogger and author Linda Lee Greene: author, artist, Interior Designer, mother of two, grandmother of two, former name: Linda Greene Diez…

I was born in Peebles, Adams County, Ohio in the farmhouse bedroom of my maternal grandparents. The farm sat on the rim of the enormous star-wound there that forms the bedrock of one of the largest earthworks in existence: the world-famous Great Serpent Mound. Built by a culture of early Native Americans, it tugs at my Cherokee blood and makes me all the prouder of my heritage. Mother of a son and a daughter, and grandmother of two grandsons, I live in Columbus, Ohio. In addition to being a best-selling author, I am also an award-winning artist. An extensive exhibition of my artwork can be viewed at http://www.gallery-llgreene.com. My award-winning blog, “In Good Company” is at http://Ingoodcompanyohio.blogspot.com. I am also co-host on the blog, “The River Time” at http://therivertime.blogspot.com.
As a child on the farm of my maternal grandparents in Southern Ohio, while carted around on the shoulders of my teenage uncles or on the broad tall backs of our… Read More 

As a child on the farm of my maternal grandparents in Southern Ohio, while carted around on the shoulders of my teenage uncles, or on the broad tall backs of our horses, my view of life began atop those high places. From those lofty vantage points, the fairytale landscape and the storybook yarns spun by the hill people there impressed my mind’s eye and ear so indelibly that they emerged over the years as images in my artwork and as the bedrocks of my last three books. The first of the three is “Guardians and Other Angels,” (http://goo.gl/imUwKO) is a novel of historical fiction blended with the true story of my Southern Ohio ancestors during the early to middle Twentieth Century. It has been compared to Pulitzer Prize winners, “The Grapes of Wrath,” and “Angela’s Ashes.” My novella for young readers titled “Rooster Tale” (goo.gl/vNq32g) is adapted from an excerpt of “Guardians and Other Angels.” My current book, “Cradle of the Serpent” (goo.gl/i3UkAV) is a novel whose protagonist is a contemporary North American archaeologist named Lily Light. Her work centers on the mounds of the Ohio Valley, with special emphasis on the “Great Serpent Mound” in Adams County, Ohio, USA. It is an endeavor that sets my archaeologist on a remarkable journey through time to the prehistoric period of the American Indian architects of the mysterious serpent effigy, and specifically to a young Indian woman named White Flower. To this indigenous culture, the mound is not only a critical component of everyday life, but also a link to the stars, which they believe to be their pathway to immortality.  

“Cradle of the Serpent” is written in the voices of Lily Light and her psychotherapist Michael Neeson. A patient of Michael’s, Lily’s therapy centers on her estrangement from her husband Jacob, also an archaeologist at work on a project in Arizona. Early in Lily’s therapy, Jacob is injured in a violent shooting at the edge of the Navajo Nation there, and is left permanently paralyzed from his shoulders down. Lily also learns that a woman murdered at the scene of the crime was Jacob’s mistress.

During several of Lily’s therapy sessions with Michael, Lily experiences dreamstates or time travels in which she takes on the bearing of White Flower, and through the process, finds her way to the other side of her shattered life wrought by Jacob’s infidelity and its numerous catastrophic consequences.

My college instructors encouraged me to write professionally, but life got in the way, and the idea settled in my consciousness as only a pined-for dream that seemed utterly doomed. But fate stepped in on the morning of August 10, 2000 while I was lying in bed suffering yet another flare-up of the Crohns Disease that had plagued me for nearly a decade, the morning that I had decided that I hadn’t much left to look forward to in life any longer. Fate got me on my feet and sent me to the shower, and while there, a story, a murder mystery, no less, flowed over me as if the words were contained within the molecules of the water. I returned to my bed with a notepad and pen, began to write, and in those few moments, my life had purpose and validity again, a life as an author of books. That book became an Amazon best-seller.

I was born in the farmhouse bedroom of my maternal grandparents, an enchanted homestead that ranges a portion of the south rim of the enormous star-wound in Peebles, Adams County, Ohio, USA, a crypto-explosion-crater that forms the rock layer of one of the largest earthworks in existence: the world-famous “Great Serpent Mound.” Built by a culture of early American Indians, the mound tugs at the part of me that is Cherokee, and makes me especially proud of my native heritage.

I live in Columbus, Ohio, USA and spend time when possible at my family’s lakeside cottage in Hawthorn, Florida, USA. In addition to being a best-selling author, I am an award-winning artist. An extensive exhibition of my artwork can be viewed at http://www.gallery-llgreene.com. My award-winning blog “In Good Company” is at http://Ingoodcompanyohio.blogspot.com.

Thank you Christoph for inviting me tell my story on your blog. I hope your readers enjoy viewing my artwork and will become my readers, too. I would enjoy hearing from them by email at lindaleegreene.author.artist@gmail.com, on Twitter at @LLGreeneAuthor, and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/LindaLeeGreeneAuthor.

 

