Rescuing random strangers on a whim may be the good deed for the day, but will Benor survive the blood feud he has unwittingly become part of. More importantly can he buy back the victim’s soul?

Today I’m giving my blog over to Tallis Steelyard (The jumbled musings of Tallis Steelyard) talking about Jim Webster’s new book: “Keeping Body and Soul Together.

“This Webster chap was moaning about having to do a blog tour, and I decided that I’d do the sensible thing. That is, I’d sound vaguely sympathetic, nod wisely, and then back away slowly without making eye contact, leaving him to get on with it.
Frankly he dumps far too much in my lap.
But then I looked at the names of the people he was including in the tour and realised that Christoph was involved in the Llandeilo Litfest. Well obviously I love literary festivals. Indeed I confess that at some I have been feted, my words cheered to the echo, and I have been forced to adopt a modest demeanour whilst receiving the adulation of the masses. Honesty insists that I tell you this doesn’t happen often, but to be fair it did happen.
But anyway back to this Webster chap. You see, he’s published another book. It’s called ‘Keeping body and soul together,’ and is another of the ‘Port Naain Intelligencer’ collection. These are six novellas which chronicle the antics of my good friend Benor when he was staying with us in Port Naain. Read them in any order, they’re a collection, not a series. Admittedly I feature barely at all in this particular story, but my lovely wife Shena plays her part, providing wise advice which young Benor occasionally takes.
Personally, just between ourselves, I’m somewhat surprised that he didn’t mention my much lauded performance at the Annual lunch of the Port Naain society for the promotion of thrift amongst the indigent. It happened at much the same time and mentioning it would at least of given Webster’s work the advantage of reflected literary merit.
And what of Webster himself I hear you ask, as you struggle to stifle the pangs of ennui. He’s a simple enough character, harmless even. Married with a wife and three daughters, dabbling in farming, writing and journalism he leads a quiet life in the north of England. From time to time he does venture forth to sell his books.
What else is there to say about him? I enclose a copy of his picture thus you can avoid him when he’s sponging for drinks at the bar. He also has a web presence. His blog is at

https://jandbvwebster.wordpress.com/

Mine on the other hand is at
https://tallissteelyard.wordpress.com/

He can be seen on Facebook at  https://www.facebook.com/jim.webster.10297

And there is even a facebook page for the books!

https://www.facebook.com/Land-of-the-Three-Seas-426394067386022/

If my few kind words have stirred your compassion and you feel the urge to support a starving artist, (him not me) then a quick look at Amazon will let you see what he’s written

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jim-Webster/e/B009UT450I/

There is a lot of it, all reasonably priced.

Oh yes, and the book,
It’s at https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06XRKQBLQ

Yours as ever

Tallis Steelyard.

Blurb: Rescuing random strangers on a whim may be the good deed for the day, but will Benor survive the blood feud he has unwittingly become part of. More importantly can he buy back the victim’s soul?

 

