Welsh Wednesdays: Welsh Crime Books on Amazon – suzannebowditch

Suzanne Bowditch’s crime book is cruising along at No 46 in the Amazon charts, under ‘Best Sellers in Welsh Crime.’ Stella Windermere The case of the Polish sailor, tells of an older lady, an amate…

Source: Welsh Crime Books on Amazon – suzannebowditch

Welsh Crime Books on Amazon

capture-no-46-on-amazon

My new crime book is cruising along at No 46 in the Amazon charts, under ‘Best Sellers in Welsh Crime.’ Stella Windermere The case of the Polish sailor, tells of an older lady, an amateur sleuth who solves crime in her local town. The character is based on a family member (now deceased) and is set in my old town in Wales.

Self Publishing vs Traditional Publishing

I’m pleased that its there, but I’m slowly realising how difficult it is to market a book yourself. My first two did well; a trilogy of historical novels that’s still WIP. After sharing it on Facebook, my blog, and Instagram, I ran out of promotion tools. The novelty of my books has also waned a bit with people I know, so I’m getting a bit frustrated by self publishing.

Because I’ve been swayed by the potency of having your own work published (and seeing it there in print), I have neglected to go the other route, and send manuscripts to traditional publishers. My dream of having several publishing houses vying for my work has become an illusion, a fantasy and a cause for self doubt and self critiquing.

Has anyone else had these same doubts? Do I carry on self publishing or send to traditional publishers?

Please share your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “Welsh Wednesdays: Welsh Crime Books on Amazon – suzannebowditch”

  1. Thanks Christoph! Have a lovely Christmas ☺x

  2. My recommendation is to send your next book to literary agents who are attracted to your genre. Agents will know exactly which publisher to approach, and most houses require an agent. In your query letter, you can summarize your book and list all of your glowing accomplishments! The Writer’s Market is a great book to have, but there are many places online such as https://querytracker.net/ that are great. I was uncommonly lucky with my first two novels, with which I went straight to a publisher without an agent and had success, but again, this is uncommon- it was an independent press, and at the time they were open to un-agented authors ( no longer the case, as they grew.) But with my 3rd book, I did just as I have recommended. It took about six months for the doors to open, but it did prove fruitful. Good luck, not that you’ll need luck; you have plenty to be proud of here, and have an impressive track record!

Leave a Reply

