Mystery Monday Questions Interview with Bebe Bollinger 51cpm-u983l

Instead of turning the tables on myself to speak about THE BODY IN THE SNOW, I decided to direct the questions to my protagonist Bebe Bollinger and let her answer for me. 

What type of crime fiction do you write and why?

Fischer usually writes historical fiction and thrillers, even contemporary dramas. For me he created a cozy mystery, don’t ask me why. I wish he would take me more seriously as the artist that I am and make me the heroine of a drama a la Dr Shivago. We could be winning awards with my voice and background in performing arts.

Tell us about the concept behind your books. How did you get the idea?

Fischer apparently was stuck in the snow a few years ago and thimages-7ought it was hilarious to trap me in my hamlet in West Wales during a snow storm, too. And then have a murder happen, give me grief from my neighbours and daughter and team me up with a Lesbian Buddhist as detective. I think he must have been drunk when all this came together. Admittedly, I get on like a house on fire with the detective Beth Cooper, but this is no “Murder She Wrote” or “Midsummer Murders”, is it?
He’s started making notes by his computer for the next book in the series.

Who would you cast to play the characters in a movie?images-22

I worry about that, you know. I think Fischer would want someone like Bette Middler, even though she can’t do a British accent and is at least a decade too old for the role. He doesn’t care. The gays are so predictable in their choices for a Diva. I’m thinking along the lines of a Meryl Streep or Helen Mirren, if it has to be that age group. Tina Fey would be better, or Melissa McCarthy, if she could lose some weight to fit my actual size.

What is more important in your books – the plot twists or the characters?images-21

Of course both are equally important. One could argue that if Beth, the detective character, wasn’t so hopeless, she wouldn’t need me.  I say, it needed someone clever like myself to figure out this entire mess. The police was hopeless in this investigation.

Do you plot the entire novel and know who did it before you start, or can that change?

There were a lot of re-writes; it messed up my recording schedule completely. I don’t think Fischer had a clue what he was doing in the first few drafts. I had to help him out a few times. I sat him down and explained to him who should and shouldn’t be the murderer. We argued about it until the very end. Quite ridiculous, really, but he insists that for him, writing a fully plotted novel, was boring and writing by numbers. He says it’s a fresh and dynamic writing style, but I wish he was more Germanic and do thinks according to a schedule. Some of us have a career to think of.

How violent are your novels?

Fortunately, they are not very violent at all. The first page describes the murder and then you have the scene where the body is found. But there are no gory details. This is a cozy mystery and all we do is mention that there was a murder.

Do you include humour?

There is some at my expense, which I find very rude.

What song would you pick to go with your book?images-25

“It Should Have Been Me!” or my big hit “Losing my mind.” The latter of course is fictitious and hasn’t been written. There’s a job for Andrew Lloyd Weber or Adele.

What are you working on now? 

Fischer currently works on the sequel to his psychological thriller “The Healer”, where a terminally ill patient meets a faith healer. In Book two, the characters come together again in the Caribbean to sort out the loose ends.
And then there are these disturbing notes on his desk for another Murder Mystery for me. I thread to think what humiliating experiences he has in store for me this time, and whether I will re-claim my fame and have a big chart hit sometime soon.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?slider-healer-new2

Will Young and Michael Buble, and of course some big name record producers.
We could make a lot of plans for the future together. My singing career, not the murder solving…

 

 

 

Get the book here: http://bookShow.me/B01LVYRI9L

Blurb:

Fading celebrity Bebe Bollinger is on the wrong side of fifty and dreaming of a return to the limelight. When a TV show offers the chance of a comeback, Bebe grabs it with both hands – not even a lazy agent, her embarrassing daughter, irritating neighbours or a catastrophic snowfall will derail her moment of glory. But when a body is found in her sleepy Welsh hamlet, scandal threatens.

Detective Sergeant Beth Cooper has a string of unsolved cases to her name. Her girlfriend left her and she’s a fish out of water in rural West Wales. Things couldn’t get much worse – until the case of the Body in The Snow lands in her lap.

Can Beth solve the case and save her career and can Bebe make her comeback? All will be revealed in this light-hearted, cosy murder mystery by best-selling and award winning historical and crime fiction novelist Christoph Fischer.

71owmnnnnml-_ux250_
Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. In 1993 he moved to the UK and now lives in Llandeilo in West Wales. He and his partner have several Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. His first historical novel, ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’,  was published in November 2012 and downloaded over 60,000 times on Amazon. He has released several more historical novels, including “In Search of A Revolution” and “Ludwika”. He also wrote some contemporary family dramas and thrillers, most notably “Time to Let Go” and “The Healer”.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: https://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

