Source: Books, A Party, And The Night I Met An American Jelly Baby – Hugh’s Views & News

Books, A Party, And The Night I Met An American Jelly Baby

Good news: I now have a book cover for my collection of short stories being published on December 9th. Bad news: I won’t be revealing it until later this week. I know, I’m a tease, aren’t I?

Other than for one of the stories in the collection, the final editing is done. Many of the stories have been rewritten (with the help of my Editor,Esther Newton) including that of ‘The Truth App’ which, as Sacha Blackrecently told me, is probably the story many of you will remember me for. I’ll be revealing both the name of the book and its cover this week. The countdown to publication day is now well underway. Will I end up on your bookshelf?

Book case

I am delighted to announce that I’ll be at the Llandeilo Christmas Book Fair on Saturday 10th, December. This will be the first place you’ll be able to get your hands on a copy of the paperback version of the book. The book fair is being organized by Christoph Fischer, author of ‘The Body In The Snow’ which I am currently reading. Full details of the book fair can be obtained by clicking on the link below. If you live in the area, then please do come along and say hello to me and over 30 other authors. Festivities are guaranteed.

Welsh Wednesdays: Llandeilo Xmas Book Fair Dec 10

The Body In The Snow - Christoph Fischer

Talking of books, my most recent purchase was ‘Winter Smith: London’s Buring’ by J. S Strange. Jack Strange was recently featured on Sarah Potter Writes, where he kindly left an extract of the book for Sarah’s Monthly Guest Storyteller feature (in which I had the pleasure of being featured earlier this year). It’s not often that reading an extract of a book will get me to buy it straight away, but this had me hooked and I purchased the book. If you’re a lover of Zombies, ‘Winter Smith: London’s Burning’ is a must buy (or put it on your Christmas list). Click on the link below to read the extract from the book and for links to buy it.

October’s Guest Storyteller: J. S. Strange

Winter Smith: London's Burning by J. S. Strange
Winter Smith: London’s Burning by J. S. Strange

With Halloween a few weeks away, I was delighted to read that blogger and book reviewer, Vicki Goodwin, has had two of her short stories included in an anthology. ’31 Days Of October: A Haunting Collection Of Halloween Tales’ is available to buy on Amazon and will thrill fans of Halloween. Want to know more and buy it? Check out Vicki’s post about the book by clicking the link below.

31 Days Of October: A Haunting Collection Of Halloween Tales

31 Days Of October: A Haunting Collection Of Halloween Tales

Talking of Halloween, you may recall that I was recently captured by thespam monster. Fellow blogger and author Debby Kaye was also captured. This could not have come at a worse time for Debby who was about to launch her new book ‘P.S. I Forgive You.’ However, I’m delighted to say that we were both eventually freed. Check out Debby’s new book and where you buy it by clicking on the link below.

Book launch: P.S. I Forgive You – New Book

P.S. I Forgive You by D.G. Kaye
Debby Kaye’s new book: P.S. I Forgive You

Moving on to blog posts, once in a while I can get captivated by a beautifully written post that has me thinking the author is writing about me! This happened recently when I read  ‘Every Piece Has A Story, written by Goerge at The Off Key Of Life. George described something which happens to me all of the time. This is one of the reasons why I enjoy blogging so much. It doesn’t matter that people can be thousands of miles apart and have never met because, every now and again, that thin thread that links us all will reveal itself. Want to know what George was describing? Check out his post by clicking on the link below.

Every Piece Has A Story

Did somebody mention a party? Oh yes, me! Sally Cronin is celebrating her third WordPress blogging anniversary on Saturday 15th October, and she’s throwing a blog party to celebrate. You’re all invited. Full details can be obtained by clicking the link below.

Smorgasbord 3rd Anniversary Party – Saturday 15th October – Your invitation 

What’s the saying? ‘You don’t get if you don’t ask.’ Well, that’s true of me. I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been one to ask. So when Steve, at Steve Says… recently asked me if I’d like to write a monthly feature for his blog, I couldn’t resist and gladly accepted his very kind invitation. ‘The Night I Met An American Jelly Baby’ is my first post over at Steve’s. “Bonkers” is what my fellow Bloggers Bash committee member Ali Isaaccalled it. And you know what? She’s right! Check it out by clicking the link below. And if you want to leave a comment about my encounter with the American jelly baby, then you’re welcome to leave it there.

Hugh Says…The Night I Met An American Jelly Baby

That’s it from me, but don’t forget to keep a look out for the cover reveal later this week. Have a great week.

