Source: 20 Questions with Eden Baylee – Don Massenzio’s Blog

 

Today we sit down with author and blogger Eden Baylee. She is going to share a bit about her work, inspiration and a little about herself.

I hope you enjoy this installment of 20 Questions.


Q1) When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I was a teenager. I have always loved to read and found words fascinating, so writing was a natural progression. When an English teacher in high school encouraged my writing by giving me good feedback, it boosted my ego and made me think I could write for a living.

I ended up in finance instead. A combination of a life-threatening illness and dissatisfaction with my job made me leave banking after twenty years.

I now write full-time.

It’s taken me sometime to get here, but I’m finally here.

Q2) How long does it typically take you to write a book?

It depends. I’ve written many short stories and novellas. These can take anywhere from a day to a few months to complete the first draft. I’ve written one novel that took me a year from inception until the time it was available for sale.

Even though I am a full-time writer, there are many things that can affect the timing of when a book is released. Most of it has to do with my own comfort level around the readiness of the book. I won’t release it unless I think it’s as perfect as it can be.

And since perfection never happens, I tend to hold back publication longer than necessary. I’m learning to let go sooner as I write each book.

Q3) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I’m not usually one to deconstruct my writing, but I’ll give a loose outline.

Mornings are reserved for social media, reading blogs and the daily news. I will usually write for my WIP after that. The writing is normally done in longhand on a legal pad, which I eventually transfer to an online WORD document by the end of the day. My days are long. They usually begin with early morning meditation, and I don’t go to bed until after midnight.

Some days, I devote my writing time to research if I find the words are not flowing as freely as I’d like. Regardless, I aim for 2000 words on a daily basis, and this does happen, although I can’t say each one of those words is good.

In between all this, I try to fit in a hot yoga class, 2-3 meals, and some time to spend with my husband.

Q4) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

In the winter, I write while wearing a wool hat. I live in Canada, so this is not unusual. I don’t take it off for about five months, not even in the house. I feel it keeps all my good ideas in my head.

Q5) How are your books published? (traditional, indie, etc.)

Indie.

Q6) Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Ideas can come from anywhere. Any new experience or encounter can produce that germ of an idea for a story. I don’t seek them out as much as I’m open to the possibilities.

Q7) If you don’t mind sharing, when did you write your first book and how old were you? 

My first book was Fall into Winter, an anthology of erotic novellas. I was 44 at the time.

Q8) What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I’m happiest when I’m of sound mind and body, and I nurture this with meditation and yoga. I also read and make time to spend with friends as much as our schedules allow. Most of my friends work 9-5 jobs so it’s not always easy.

Q9) What is your favorite book?

I can’t say I have one, as one does not quickly come to mind. I’ve always loved the writing of Charles Bukowski, particularly his poetry. His novel, Ham on Rye would rank as one of my top books.

Additionally, other books like: The Magus by John Fowles, East of Eden by John Steinbeck, and The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon have influenced my writing or made an impression on me at different times in my life.

Q10) What do your family and friends think of your writing?

I left a banking career to pursue something that would certainly not be as lucrative financially, but I knew that going in. My lifestyle has changed to accommodate my passion, but it hasn’t affected my relationships.

It’s a job, just like everyone else’s. Ultimately, they support me in that same way I support them to work and make a living.

