Bebe cutYesterday I featured P.C. Zick with a post about the setting of her new novel “Mountain Miracles”. Today I will talk about the setting for “The Body in the Snow”

“The Body in the Snow” is set in West Wales, which has been my home for the last two years. Originally I placed the story in England but when I started my first re-write after moving to Wales, I was so in love with my surroundings that I brought the characters across the border with me.
West Wales is wonderfully beautiful with lush green hills, beautiful mountain tops, spectacular beaches and world-renowned coastal hiking trails. Why not more people live here is beyond me.

The setting of “The Body in the Snow” is a declaration of love to this beautiful and unique country and seemed a great fit, with plenty of inspiration to add to the next draft of my novel.js54813892
I came to the UK many moons ago because of a Welsh lawyer from Swansea and have been with a Welsh man for the last ten years. Although I only lived here for a short period of time, my connection to Wales has been long standing. Once a week we crossed the Severn Bridge into Wales to visit my partner’s fragile parents and each time I liked the sensation of going to Wales.
The book is particularly dedicated to the welcoming people of my adopted new hometown and the people who helped us to settle in there so quickly. After 15 months I now rarely go somewhere without bumping into someone I know and having a chat on the way.images-7

In 2012 our house was snowed in on a hill top and the electricity was cut several times for almost entire days. My partner joked that this was the perfect setting for a murder mystery, since nobody could arrive or leave. I liked the idea. We were cut off from everything, as is so often the starting point of good crime fiction, like “Then there were none” by Agatha Christie, or “Murder on the Orient Express”. Living in a rural location, we learned first-hand the far and unforeseen limitations of life in such a big snowfall. Where we live in Wales could easily be affected in the same way.

I refrained from making the book a copy of popular Welsh shows, such as “Gavin and Stacey” or “Stella”, so the Welsh element is kept at a lower key and without too many stereotypes, I hope.download-6

You can now order my book on Amazon via these links:

http://smarturl.it/BodyInTheSnowBB

http://bookShow.me/B01LVYRI9L

 

THE BODY IN THE SNOW – A BEBE BOLLINGER MURDER MYSTERY:

Fading celebrity Bebe Bollinger is on the wrong side of fifty and dreaming of a return to the limelight. When a TV show offers the chance of a comeback, Bebe grabs it with both hands – not even a lazy agent, her embarrassing daughter, irritating neighbours or a catastrophic snowfall will derail her moment of glory. But when a body is found in her sleepy Welsh hamlet, scandal threatens.
Detective Sergeant Beth Cooper has a string of unsolved cases to her name. Her girlfriend left her and she’s a fish out of water in rural West Wales. Things couldn’t get much worse – until the case of the Body in The Snow lands in her lap. 

Can Beth solve the case and save her career and can Bebe make her comeback?  All will be revealed in this light-hearted, cosy murder mystery by best-selling and award winning historical and crime fiction novelist Christoph Fischer.

Bebe 1

IMG_8322-XL

Picture courtesy of Neil Deardon @Manchester Author Event 2016

download-7 images-8

