Today I have the 21878750pleasure of sharing my review of Men of the Cross (Battle Scars, #1)
by Charlene Newcomb, a 2014 B.R.A.G Medallion Honoree

“War, political intrigue and passion… heroes… friends and lovers… and the seeds for a new Robin Hood legend await you…”

The tag line doesn’t promise too much. A historical romance with a difference, this very well researched and historically competent story illustrates events taking place between 1190 and 1193, namely parts of King Richard’s Crusade to the holy land.
It revolves around two very different knights: Henry de Grey, strong in his faith and passionate about the mission to take Jerusalem back from Saladin’s army. Stephan l’Aigle’s is more worldy a warrior.During their journey and through their adventures the two develop their attraction to each other. This includes a m/m relationship with a heat level of 2 (out of 5), which means there is some erotic content but nothing too graphic. Unlike more gratuitous stories, this gives the characetrs time to develop actual feelings and attraction, making the gay love story central but believable and more heart-felt. Combining this with serious historical writing, background information and battle scenes this is more than a one-trick pony, as the existence of book 2 in the series assures me.

I really enjoyed this more than I had anticipated and can only recommend it highly.

Find the book on Amazon Uk and Amazon US

Charlene Newcomb

Website

 

Twitter

5782281

Welcome to my worlds.

Medieval historical fiction has me under its spell at the moment. I am currently working on a book series that takes place during the reign of Richard the Lionheart. Battle Scars I: Men of the Cross was published in May 2014; Book II: For King and Country in May 2016. I am researching and plotting out Book III as of summer 2016.

My writing roots are in the Star Wars Expanded Universe where I published my first short story in 1994 in the Star Wars Adventure Journal. A succession of Star Wars stories followed that first one. My mainstream family saga, Keeping the Family Peace, centers on the lives of a Navy family.

Librarian by day.
Mom to 3 grown, amazing children.
I live in Kansas. Yes, Toto. Kansas.

Find me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/CharleneNewco…
and Twitter: http://twitter.com/charnewcomb

