Marion_KummerowToday I have the pleasure of introducing Marion Kummerow, who just released her latest book this week. Welcome Marion and congratulations on your new release. Please tell my readers why you choose to write historical fiction?

 

About 25 years ago someone came to my parent’s house to write a Master thesis about the life of my grandfather in the German Resistance during WW2. I was hooked.

But the idea simmered in the back of my head for more than two decades until I finally wrote my first historical fiction novel, based on the true story of my grandparents.
What in particular fascinates you about the era(s) you write about?

The way how war and a cruel government affects every person. Ordinary persons have to take extraordinary decisions. How would I react if something similar happened today? Would I stand up and do the right thing or would I bow down to the pressure.

Unrelenting-Final-KindleTell us about the concept behind your books. How did you get the idea?

The idea formed after reading the many letters my grandparents and great-grandparents left behind. It gave me an intimate glimpse into their lives and the struggles of every person during the Third Reich.

My WW2 trilogy follows one couple’s lives over a span of almost a decade. It’s a story about love, courage, bravery, and the unrelenting will to stay true to oneself and one’s convictions.

What makes you laugh?

Funny movies. My all time favourite is “Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown” by Pedro Almodovar. I literally was on the verge of a breakdown while watching it. It’s hilarious.

What are you working on now? 

UNRELENTING  was the first part in my WW2 trilogy and I’m currently working on part 2, which will probably be called UNYIELDING.

Apart from that I just finished a short story “Turning Point”, which takes place in Berlin in December 1941.

And my head is full with ideas for more books to come.
Tell us about your writing history. When was the first time you decided to write and when was the first time you did?

Funnily enough, I never decided to write a book. It just happened J

During my entire life I’ve liked to write. Essays. Articles. Diaries. Emails. Anything.

When we rented out our apartment in Munich, the experiences prompted me to write an ebook called “How to Rent and Apartment in Munich.” Even though all my friends loved the idea it was a complete failure and I sold maybe 10 copies. But I wouldn’t let that stop me. Writing was just too much fun.

How did you come up with your stories?

Coming up with stories is easy. Whatever happens in my life gives me ideas.

 

Were the plot and subplots completely planned from the start or did they change during the process, and if so, how?

The main plot of UNRELENTING of course was defined by the facts. Dates. Events. But scenes, side characters, subplots, all this changed during writing. I’m not one to plan everything in detail, because I get my best ideas while writing.

I sit or stand at my desk, look out of the window and – bam. There it is, a new idea. A twist to make the story better. Happens all the time.
What do you do when you don’t write?

Mostly spend the time with my kids (2 and 6) and my husband. And my second passion is travelling. My ultimate goal is to have visited every country in the world.

 

What do you like best about writing? What’s your least favourite thing? 

I love putting my words to paper and I love to edit them. Make the words bring the story to life. But the part I don’t like is planning or plotting. It’s boooring and dreadful.

Contact Marion:Marion_Kummerow

Website

http://kummerow.info/

 

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Marion-Kummerow/e/B00A7S52S0

 

https://www.amazon.com/Unrelenting-Resistance-Pre-War-Germany-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B01DKCJTTW

Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/MarionKummerow

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/AutorinKummerow/

Twitter

https://twitter.com/MarionKummerow

Author Bio

Marion Kummerow was born and raised in Germany, before she set out to “discover the world” and lived in various countries. In 1999 she returned to Germany and settled down in Munich where she’s now living with her family.

Unrelenting-Final-KindleAfter dipping her toes with non-fiction books, she finally tackled the project dear to her heart. UNRELENTING is the story about her grandparents, who belonged to the German resistance and fought against the Nazi regime.

It’s a book about resilience, love and the courage to stand up and do the right thing.

 

 

