What type of crime fiction do you write and why? jinx desk on boat 2
I write humorous mystery involving the adventures of a female engineer with a boat and a penchant for trouble.
 
Did anyone influence you / encourage you to become a writer?
I suppose I am influenced by writers who can combine mystery and humor like Nelson DeMille, and Larry McMurtry, who can write anything and do it well.
Tell us about the concept behind your books. How did you get the idea?
I’m a boater. I love being on the water and living aboard, so quite naturally my protagonists would, as well.box set twitter
 
Who is your favourite Detective?
Clouseau, sans doubt. I am a fan of farce and try to include the style into my books in small dabs.download (16)
Do you throw in Red Herrings?

Absolutely. I despise reading a book where I figure out who, what, when and where within the first few chapters. Fiction readers want a mystery, not true crime stories where you know the who-dun-it up front.
 
Do you plot the entire novel and know who did it before you start, or can that change?
I’m a pantser, not a plotter. I know the setting, and usually the perp, but hardly ever the ending and how Hetta Coffey gets there. While researching a book, I usually end up following new information to twists in the plot.
 
How violent are your novels?
Not. There is implied violence, but usually tempered by it happening in a humorous way. I know, that sounds weird, but it can be done. And I never, ever, include explicit sex.
 

What song would you pick to go with your book?

Hetta’s favorite song is “Non Je Ne Regrette Rien” by Edith Piaf, but those who know her think maybe “My Way” might be more appropriate, because that the way she rolls.
 
What are you working on now?
Number eight in the Hetta Coffey series, untitled as yet. I’m having a great time with this one, as I have a change of scenery from Mexico, where she’s been hanging out for the past six books. And no, not telling where yet. 
Who would you like to invite for dinner?
Patsy and Eddy and we would have an absolutely fabulous time, Dahling Sweetiepie
jinx desk on boat 2Bio: Jinx Schwartz is the author of ten books, including seven in The Hetta Coffey series. Hetta is a sassy Texan with a snazzy yacht and she’s not afraid to use it!
So is Jinx.
Twitter: @jinxschwartz
Book Bub:
