logo-mainI’m currently collaborating with several great authors on a project in aid of the Santa Paula ‘No Kill’ Animal Rescue Center. We’re calling it “The Art of WaAR”.
Each of us has contributed a work to this up-coming anthology and all proceeds will go directly to this shelter.
I’m proud to be involved not only as a dog owner and animal lover, but because I will be published along some extremely fine talent. Today I’m interviewing myself

922159_10151345337037132_1303709604_o

What type of fiction do you write and why?

I write mostly historical fiction because it interests me. I get curious about a certain country and period of time and read about it. Sooner or later I find a story to tell about it. Occasionally I write about other issues, such as Alzheimers’ or mental health.

Tell us about the concept behind your book. How did you get the idea?

“African August” is based on some of my travel 41291_418520427131_5188538_nexperiences in Africa. I met a lot of do-gooders, adventure tourists and businessmen on the continent and often wondered what it would be like to live there. So I created a character, Timothy, to do this for me. He does a lot of the things I have done, like white water rafting and hiking in the jungle, and then a few that I didn’t.

How did you get involved in the charity project? 41291_418520422131_825837_n

Ever since Paulette Mahurin decided to donate all of her book’s proceeds to the Santa Paula Animal Rescue Centre, the first and only no kill shelter, did I feel I should do the same. When Wanda Hartzenberg  approached me to join the charity project for this noble cause I jumped at the chance. Given that the common theme is meant to be art and my character becomes a writer, this story was the best fit.

Are you a dog / animal 41291_418520442131_5662599_nperson?

Oh yes. My dogs are my children. I live in the countryside surrounded by sheep, cows, birds and fish. My best days are when the morning ritual includes feeding the lot of them.

Tell us about one of your main characters. What makes them special?movies-damian-lewis-esquire

Timothy is used to money and luxury but is bored with his life and decides to pack it all in for a hapier and more adventurous life in Africa. I admire him for the guts to do this. He’s a lot more spontaneous and daring than I am. That doesn’t always work in his favour but it makes him an interesting character.

Who would you cast to play the characters in a movie?

Damian Lewis or Alexander Skarsgaard. I hate to admit that most of my characters tend to be written that way.023832

Are you like any of the characters (and how so)?

Timothy has done a lot of things I did and he does things I’m not sure I would risk doing. So he is a lot like me and also the opposite.

How violent are your novels?

This one has a few violent scenes in it. Not too graphic. I usually only hint at violence so that the book can be read by a wider and younger audience.

Do you include humour?

I try. Laughter is so important but I’m not sure it is my forte.

What do you do when you don’t write?

I walk the dogs, cycle, do yoga, read and watch films and comedy TV.

What makes you laugh?

Slapstick and adolescent humour.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Wanda Hartzenberg, Nathan Squiers, Paulette Mahurin, Uvi Poznansky and the rest of the project team.

What would your friends say are your best and your oddest quality?

Best: Thoughtfulness.

Oddest: My taste in music

What would you chose as those qualities?

Best: Loyalty

Oddest: My sleeping pattern

Who are your favourite authors?

Lionel Shriver, Christos Tsiolkas, Khaled Hosseini, Brett Easton Ellis, Paulette Mahurin, P.C. Zick, Murielle Cyr, Brenda Perlin, John Dolan, Tony Gilbert, Ian Hutson, Richard Yates, Anne Tyler…

What is your favourite book?

ShantaramMelodie 1

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

“Lights of Polaris” by Melodie Ramone – e-book. It‘s brillianPageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00042]t!

What are you working on now?

I’m working on a silly murder mystery set in the UK countryside. I’ve also contributed to Brenda Perlin’s anthology Punk Rocker. It includes two short stories about my rebel youth.

CHRISTOPH FISCHER 12360399_10153067444957132_5703419004838921262_n

Short Biography:

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small town in West Wales. He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and ‘The Black Eagle Inn’ in October 2013 – which completes his ‘Three Nations Trilogy’. “Time to Let Go”, his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions”, another contemporary novel, in October 2014. The sequel “Conditioned” was published in October 2015. His medical thriller “The Healer” was released in January 2015 and his second thriller “The Gamblers” in June 2015. He published two more historical novels “In Search of a Revolution” in March 2015 and “Ludwika” in December 2015.

He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: https://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

