logo-mainI’m currently collaborating with several great authors on a project in aid of the Santa Paula ‘No Kill’ Animal Rescue Center. Each of us has contributed a work to this up-coming anthology and all proceeds will go directly to the shelter.
I’m proud to be involved not only as a dog owner and animal lover, but because I will be published along some extremely fine talent. Today I’m interviewing Gillian Joy.

Tell us about the concept behind your books. How did you get the idea?

AUTHOR 4Actually the idea behind this one was a bit cliche. It was a dream that I woke up from in the middle of the night, it was just one scene that I dreamt, but it just begged to be written, twelve months later – Starting Over was finally finished.

How did you get involved in the charity project?

I have been a member of WaAr for a long time, pretty much since it’s conception I think. I had already started writing Starting Over, which was supposed to be a novella (it grew just a little bit) that I was planning  to offer for free when I saw the post calling for anyone who had an “Art” orientated story who was interested in contributing to the charity box set. I messaged Wanda to see if Starting Over fit the bill (it’s only link to Art was a musician in the Male protagonist) and she was keen so here I am.

Are you a dog / animal person?

Yeah I love animals, especially dogs. I have a very spoilt English staffie named Cleo, she’s just like a little person and definitely thinks she’s just one of the kids, although the other kids don’t get to sleep on our bed, and yet she still does….. every night.

How violent are your novels? banner

I really don’t think they’re violent at all, at least not graphically so.  There are certainly characters who have met violent ends in all my novels so far, but I don’t dwell on the violence itself. So maybe I would have to say “just a little bit” if I was going to be totally truthful.

Do you include humour? Guardian

I don’t really try to include humour per-se, as in I don’t write comedy,  (well I haven’t to date anyway, we’ll see what the future holds) but some of the scenes I have written have made me chuckle a bit at the time of writing, these are usually the scenes that are more or less taken from my life and generally include the actions of children. Children are always saying funny things or doing funny things.

What do you do when you don’t write? 

I design houses for a living and run my own drafting business, but I also spend an awful lot of time running my kids around like a mad woman… dancing classes, netball practice, netball games, kickboxing classes, football practice, football games (Aussie Rules). In truth though, I use that time, while the kids are doing their extracurricular activities to write, which is why I have done most of my writing on my phone – although these days I prefer to use my tablet.

What makes you laugh?Forever

More often than not, my kids. They also quite regularly make me cry and yell, and want to rip my hair out by the roots. But I love them unconditionally with all of my heart.

Who are your favourite independent writers?

Too hard to answer that one as the list is far too long, Most of my favourite Indie authors I now consider good friends, even if it only via the internet, but there really are too many for me to list.

Who are your favourite authors?

Stephen King and Anne Rice (not necessarily in that order) would have to be favourite main stream authors, but with that said both have written books that I absolutely could not stand as well.

What is your favourite book? Revenge

I don’t think I can pick a favourite, I love reading and read so many good books that this an impossible question to answer.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

I am currently reading Game of Thrones (by George R R Martin) in Paperback, and a romantic comedy series called shopping for the Billionaire (by Julia Kent) in e-book on my kindle app. I swap between my phone and my tablet.

What are you working on now? 

I have a few current WIP’s. Starting Again is the sequel to Starting Over, and it’s my main focus at the moment.  But I am also working on Conjuring Love, which is a prequel to my Guardian trilogy. As well as  Guardian Legacy, which is a sequel to the Guardian trilogy. I am also working on No Chance to Say Goodbye, which is supposed to be the story of my teenage brothers suicide – however this one is proving rather elusive. I will get there, I’m determined to get there, but it might take a while.

 

 

AUTHOR 4Gillian Joy is a 46 year old mother of two who designs houses for a living and lives to write. She grew up in the Western Suburbs of Sydney Australia the eldest of five children, had two younger brothers and two much younger sisters. She says had because one of her brothers died when she was only nineteen. You can read about his story in No Chance to say Goodbye when it is released.

IMG_20150814_192135
These days Gillian lives on the Mornington Peninsula, south east of Melbourne Australia where she spends as much spare time as she can either with her nose in a book or writing away on her phone or tablet. She lives with her husband, two beautiful but willful kids a few fish and a very spoilt English Staffie named Cleo.
She is a proud Australian, who loves bbq’s, thongs and vegimite sandwiches and has even been know to call her friends “mate”.

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/Guardiannovel/
Twitter : https://twitter.com/Gillianjoy2801
Website : http://www.gillianjoy.com/index.html
Blog : http://gillianjoy-livingtowrite.blogspot.com.au/
Amazon : http://www.amazon.com/Gillian-Joy/e/B009F8XXY8/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1460711698&sr=8-1

Guardian on Amazon.com  : http://www.amazon.com/Guardian-Gillian-Joy-ebook/dp/B019FKXSUE/ref=la_B009F8XXY8_1_1_twi_kin_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1460718796&sr=1-1

Guardian on iBooks : <a href=”https://geo.itunes.apple.com/au/book/guardian/id1060129736?mt=11“>Guardian – Gillian Joy</a>

Guardian on Smashwords : https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/593518

