DianneHarmanSince I’m contemplating to move further into the crime fiction genre, I’m launching a new Interview series. Who better to start off Mystery Mondays than the wonderful Dianne Harman, a woman whose writing I have followed and adored for years. Welcome back Dianne. Please tell my readers what type of crime fiction you write and why?

Cozy mystery. I like writing in this genre because it allows me to do a lot with dogs and food, plus I always include recipes. I’ve been fortunate to spend time I many cooking schools around the world, so it’s fun to have the action take place somewhere and then share recipes.

Did anyone influence you / encourage you to become a writer?

My husband. I wrote a book and put it in a drawer, happy that at least I’d done it. A week or so after I’d finished it, he asked if he could read it. A few days later, he said, “This has to be published.” I’ve been writing ever since.

 

Are you like any of the characters (and how so)?download (11)

I don’t think we can ever completely separate ourselves from our books. Certainly I find elements in my books that come from real life experiences. I had a boxer named Rebel, he’s a main character. I trekked in Nepal. That’s in one of the books. And so it goes.

 

Do you plot the entire novel and know who did it before you start, or can that change?

I’ve tried it and I feel strangled. It’s as if I’m reading the book while I’m writing it. The characters dictate what happens and I have what I call a Muse. She often visits me in the middle of the night and shares what’s going to happen next. And so it does.

How violent are your novels?download (10)

Non-violent.

Is there such a thing as cosy in murder mystery?

Absolutely. That’s what I write. No swearing, no overt sex, no violence.

Do you include humour?

I would like to think so. I hope others do.

What are you working on now?

I have three that are in the works. Murdered By Words will be published within the next few weeks. A murder that occurs at a country music festival outside of Palm Springs, California follows that. Lastly, I’m writing a mystery that takes place in an upscale hunting lodge in Texas.

What do you do when you don’t write?images (25)

Play with my dog, the grandchildren, travel, and cook. I recently returned from Argentina and Chile. Fabulous! Naturally, a book will be in the offing. That’s next on my list.

What makes you laugh?

The foibles and frailty of humans. We are funn!

 

What is your favourite book?

If you’re asking of the ones I wrote, I’d have to say all of them. They’re kind of like my children. Love them equally!

Dianne Harman lives in Huntington Beach,
California with her husband, Tom, and her dog, Kelly. When she’s not
writing or editing, she can be found in the kitchen cooking or outside
playing with her dog.

If you’d like to read some of Dianne’s books for free, please go to
her website at www.dianneharman.com

Dianne Harman, Author
Amazon: http://ow.ly/s6pN5
Web Site http://www.DianneHarman.com
Blog: http://dianneharman.com/blog/
Twitter: @DianneDHarman29534389

Links to my previous feature on Dianne and her books 

I’m a big fan of the Cedar Bay Cozy Mystery series and of Dianne Harman. As dog lover this was off course a must read and I was not disappointed. The owner of the Doggie Love Kennel is found murdered and the dogs are set free. My heart went out to the rescue team, trying to capture the ‘orphaned’ dogs.
As always with Harman’s books – there is no shortage of suspects and Kelly assists Sheriff Mike in finding out whodunit. This is highly recommended for fans of cozy mysteries. Includes recipes!

 

