download (9)As I have mentioned yesterday in my author update I just sent my latest project off to the beta readers: It is a silly murder mystery, and a long cry from my usual style of Historical or contemporary fiction based on serious issues. Although I’ve written two thrillers, they, too, had some serious undertones. This new project is intended as a fun novel, something I have been keen on doing for a long time.

So the question is: Will I be doing myself damage and disappoint readers who come to expect certain elements in my fiction, if I transgress into a cosy, fun mystery? images (22)
Or, will readers see that this is a different type of book and not buy it, if this isn’t their cup of tea?

This raises a lot of questions, particularly: Who am I writing for?
As much as we all write for an audience, we also write a little bit for ourselves. My stories need to come out. Authors with a recognisable and repeatable formula tend to do better, but their books can become predictable and lose their appeal.
But how far can the adventurous amongst us go without disappointing their core fans?

I had the idea for this book in 2012 when I was snowed in and cut off from civilisation for several days. The main character stayed with me since that time, she has become a close friend of mine and a source of entertainment. It’s taken many attempts and a lot of pep talk to finally finish the book.images (15)

Now I’m nervously awaiting the verdict as this is my first attempt at comedy and at “cosy”, and quite a big step out of my comfort zone. Fingers crossed that my test audience thinks this is good enough for me to keep working on it. I had a great time writing it, but humour is very personal and am not sure it is the right book for me to publish. Maybe I’ll do it under a pen name or just keep it for myself after all…

PLEASE VOTE IN THIS POLL and voice your opinion – many thanks 🙂

