10530852_10152333576197132_2596842563155894742_nToday I’ve taken the challenge to answer my own Welsh Wednesdays questions.
So let me tell you about my connection to Wales.

In 1993 I came to the UK on a European student exchange programme. First to Loughborough, then to London where, on my first night out, I fell head over heels in love with a Welsh lawyer from Swansea. Although the relationship didn’t last for more than a few years, I stayed in Britain and have been living with another Welsh man for the last ten years.
Last April, we moved to beautiful Llandeilo in West Wales.
Without ever looking for it, I have made quite a few friends from Wales in my life.images (26)

I have also found a lot of story telling talent here and am currently putting together a Book Fair in Llandeilo for April 30th.

Tell us a little about yourself as writer and as person.

I’m a German ex-pat living in a rural setting with my partner, dogs, fish, birds and sheep. An avid reader and fan of the arts, I used to work in museums, libraries and the British Film Institute. Only when my employment with an airline provided me with spare time in transit or hotel rooms did I start writing myself.

Why did you decide to write in your chosen genre(s)?poster3-horiz

I’m writing about things I’m interested in, which is history and human relationships. Ancestry research led to some of my first novels, historical or other curiosity to the ones that followed. Wondering how people deal with Alzheimer’s or mental health problems made me write some of my contemporary family dramas.
I also wrote a thriller when my partner had the idea for a good plot.
The genres have chosen me, really. I would love to write a great comedy, if I could pull it off.

Which Welsh person would you like to invite for dinner and what would you serve?

Bonnie Tyler. I was a huge fan of her music and she comes across as a very likeable and interesting person. If she is busy, maybe Jonathan Pryce.
Since I’m vegetarian, I’d have to get someone in to cook the Lamb.

Who is your favourite Welsh author?12066017_10152994871952132_5517186965362350321_n 

Road Dahl.

What is the best thing about Wales? 

The beautiful countryside. Even on a rainy day, you can see enormous beauty.

What are you working on now?

A comic rural murder mystery and a sequel to my thriller “The Healer”

What are your favourite books?

“The Gift of Rain”, “We Need to Talk about Kevin”, “The Slap” and “Shantaram”

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

“Enjoyment is Forbidden” by Aaron David – e-book. I love David’s sense of humour and sharp observational wit.

How do you handle criticism of your work?

You can’t argue with other people’s opinion, so I try to take it on the chin and learn from it.

CHRISTOPH FISCHER 12360399_10153067444957132_5703419004838921262_n

Short Biography:

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small town in West Wales. He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and ‘The Black Eagle Inn’ in October 2013 – which completes his ‘Three Nations Trilogy’. “Time to Let Go”, his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions”, another contemporary novel, in October 2014. The sequel “Conditioned” was published in October 2015. His medical thriller “The Healer” was released in January 2015 and his second thriller “The Gamblers” in June 2015. He published two more historical novels “In Search of a Revolution” in March 2015 and “Ludwika” in December 2015.

He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: https://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

