019Today I have the pleasure of introducing you to Erin S. Riley. Welcome Eric, please tell us a little about yourself as writer and as person.

Hello! I am Erin S. Riley, the author of the Sons of Odin Series. I write edgy historical fiction featuring flawed, interesting characters and packed with adventure, suspense, and romance. I live in Cincinnati Ohio, and I’m married with two children. My educational background is in psychology and counseling.

Why did you choose to write historical fiction?

I have dozens of books in my head. Some are historical fiction, some are contemporary fiction, and one is even a paranormal romance. The characters who are the most persistent are the ones who get written first! Alrik Ragnarson wouldn’t take no for an answer, so he won out for the first book. Odin's Shadow_Final

What in particular fascinates you about the era(s) you write about?

I have a fascination for warrior societies. I love the danger and unpredictability of life in the medieval period. I’ve enjoyed researching the Vikings since I was very young.

Tell us about the concept behind your books. How did you get the idea?

I have a psych background, so everything I read is filtered through that lens. As I was reading about Viking berserkers one day, I realized these men actually suffered from a mental illness. I thought their story needed to be told.

 

What song would you pick to go with your book?

My characters have their own playlists. Here they are:

Selia:
1. “Just a Girl” by No Doubt
2. “Upside Down” by Diana Ross
3. “Hot N Cold” by Katy Perry
4. “If I Can’t Have You” by Yvonne Elliman
5. “Bleeding Love” by Leona Lewis
Odin's Shadow casting pics
Alrik:
1. “Time Bomb” by Godsmack
2. “Closer” by Nine Inch Nails
3. “Bodies” by Drowning Pool
4. “Whiskey Hangover” by Godsmack
5. “Snuff” by Slipknot

Ulfrik:
1. “Jessie’s Girl” by Rick Springfield
2. “Can’t Fight This Feeling” by REO Speedwagon
3. “I Just Want to Be Your Everything” by Andy Gibb
4. “Let Her Go” by Passenger
5. “Broken” by Seether
Tell us about your writing history. When was the first time you decided to write and when was the first time you did? AFPO_Final

The first thing I wrote was a story about a soldier in the American Civil War. I think I was in the fourth or fifth grade when I wrote it. It was a tale of betrayal and redemption, themes that seem to reappear in all my writing since then.

How did you come up with your stories?

They come to me unbidden, mostly at night. I write books in my head from beginning to end when I should be sleeping.

Which characters is your favourite?

Ulfrik–he was a real surprise. But I love them all, even the bad ones.

 

Are you like any of the characters (and how so)?

I guess there is a little bit of me in all the characters. But I’ll let you in on a secret—Geirr, Selia’s stepson, is modelled almost completely after my own son. He’s sweet, impulsive and mischievous, just like my boy. Always looking for trouble and surprised when he finds it!

Were the plot and subplots completely planned from the start or did they change during the process, and if so, how? Oath Breaker_Final

It’s hard to describe, but my writing process feels more like I’m watching a movie. My task is to write down what happened in the movie rather than make things up. Whenever I try to change anything drastically from the “movie” in my head, the characters don’t approve and make me fix it!
What are the best and the worst aspects of writing?

The best: getting so lost in the process that I completely lose track of time, space, and my own name. The worst: not having the time to sit down and write whenever I want to.

How do you balance marketing one book and writing the next?

I do a lot of promotion on Twitter and a little on Facebook. I spend about an hour a day on promotion. When I’m actively writing, I get up very early and write for two hours before I have to get ready for work. Then I’ll write for longer chunks of time on the weekends. Finding a balance can be difficult, but it can be done.

What do you do when you don’t write?

I spend a lot of time at my day job as the manager of a program for children with disabilities. I give it my all when I’m there, but I try to keep work at work. When I have free time, I create. I taught myself to quilt and I’ve made about a dozen quilts for loved ones. I’m also the videographer for my son’s football team. I make a team video every year and give all the kids on the team one. So I’m happiest when I’m creating! My brain never, ever stops compelling me to make something; anything. I don’t even try to fight it anymore.

Tell us one odd thing about you and one really mundane thing.

Odd thing: everyone in my family is dyslexic. Me, my husband, and both kids. I’m a firm believer that dyslexia is a gift, not a curse. We are all creative, out of the box thinkers. I wouldn’t have it any other way. My daughter is a gifted artist, my son a gifted athlete. My husband makes amazing things in his workshop. Several of my favourite pieces of furniture were made by him.

Mundane thing: the only household chore I enjoy doing is laundry. I HATE housework. If I ever make it big I will splurge on a live-in housekeeper.

 

Who are your favourite independent writers?

I really like Hannah Howe. She writes amazing mysteries about a female private detective, Sam Smith. Love these books!

 

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

The Girl from Berlin, book 3 by Ellie Midwood. Ebook.

What makes you laugh?

I love to be silly and stupid, especially with my brothers. When we’re together I’m laughing so hard tears are running down my face. But I also love satire. The Onion is always good for a laugh.

What (not who) would you like to take to a lonely island?

I would have to be practical and take a sheep. I would therefore have milk and wool, not to mention a four legged friend to keep me company. Did I mention I have four cats and a dog?

 

How do you handle criticism of your work?

People are entitled to their opinions even when they’re wrong. Ha, just kidding! I’ve developed a thicker skin over the last few years. Criticism hurts my feelings but I’ve learned not to take so personally.

Connect with Erin:  019

twitter: @erinsriley1

https://www.facebook.com/erinsrileyromance/

Erin S. Riley. 186 likes · 3 talking about this. Erin S. Riley is the author of the Sons of Odin series, Viking era romantic thrillers published by Soul…

Find her books here: 

http://tinyurl.com/ptk8zuk

Odin’s Shadow (Sons of Odin Book 1) – Kindle edition by Erin S. Riley. Romance Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

 

http://tinyurl.com/esrafpo

A Flame Put Out (Sons of Odin Series Book 2) – Kindle edition by Erin S. Riley. Romance Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.
