tangwstylWelcome to Welsh Wednesdays and thank you for participating. First up, please tell us about your connection to Wales.

I was born and bred in Wales and I’m very proud to be the son of such a wonderful country.

Tell us a little about yourself as writer and as person.

I’m a history lover, a medievalist, and I’ve been researching and writing about that era for as long as I can remember. As a person, I enjoy music, reading and my two dogs, Madog and Cynan, named after two of the characters in my novel, Tangwstyl.

Why did you decide to write in your chosen genre(s)?

My love of history pulled me towards that genre. Also, I feel that we can learn so much from the past, so writing about, and researching the medieval period, offers endless fascination.

l us about the concept behind your book(s). 9780956690913

With Tangwstyl, I wanted to write about a medieval town, so I based it on my social history research. I placed the novel in Kenfig, a few decades before the sand encroached and swallowed up the town. The sand acts as a metaphor in the story. Also, it’s a strong motivating factor for the villains in the plot. Their castle is sinking into the sand. What can they do about it? Nothing. But they can line their pockets with gold if they accept an offer to murder the king…

Who is your favourite Welsh author? 

My friend and colleague, Hannah Howe, is my favourite Welsh author. And, no, she didn’t pay me to say that. And, yes, that answer is genuine.shutterstock_2405318_kindlephoto-171759170

What is the best thing about Wales? 

Wales has a history of hospitality and social justice, dating back to the laws of Hywel Dda, and beyond. We should be proud of that history and its legacy, proud of what we stand for as a nation.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

I read mainly for research, mainly books about the medieval era and local history. I prefer hardbacks and paperbacks to modern e-readers, though I often wonder what medieval scribes would make of the way we write and communicate today.

Web links 9780956690920

http://jonesthebook.com

http://manseljones.com

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mansel-Jones/e/B0044RKLZO/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1447080922&sr=1-2-ent

http://www.amazon.com/Mansel-Jones/e/B0044RKLZO/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1447080922&sr=1-2-ent

