Author pic_ Jennifer LoiskeToday I have the honour of introducing you to a really wonderful and interesting writer: Jennifer Loiske: writer, relentless supporter of others and a lot more. Hear it in her own words:

I am a fulltime writer, owner of Rogue House, and a part of an author alliance, Authors For Charity, as well as a team member of Epilepsy FI magazine, which means I’m practically always working. That said, I’m also a proud mom of two beautiful daughters, and to two furry four legged darlings. I have had insomnia of some sort for years, which suits me perfectly. More time to write and still enough time for my family. I try to live my life as fully as possible and enjoy the moment. You never know when it’s your last day…

Jennifer Loiske, all books 6_2015When did you decide to write in your chosen genre(s)?

I didn’t. At least not intentionally. I’ve just always been drawn to all kind of supernatural stuff, so it kind of happened without me even noticing it.

What is your life like outside of writing?_Once you start reading…_

What do you mean? Is there a life outside writing? If you’d ask my family, they’d say I’m always writing. However, I disagree. I take long walks with my dogs, have fun with my friends and actually am kind of normal mom most of the time. Although I have to confess that my mind is always working…new possible stories are everywhere and I love, love plotting whilst walking. For me the best ideas come when I’m not at my laptop.

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Okay, don’t laugh…but yeah, I’d like to throw a dinner party to Ian Somerhalder. Wait! Before you say anything I’d like to open up this wish a bit. I’ve watched Ian grow from the lad in Lost to the great benefactor and environmental protector. He does so much good that I think most of his fans don’t even realize it. He’s also grown to be one of my favorite actors, and, yeah, he’s not so bad to look at either.

What song would you pick to go with your book?

Hmm…there are so many…but maybe Evanescence’s Going Under would fit into all of my books.

What are you working on now?  Black Coven promo pic 2

I just finished the final part of the McLean Twins series and am now working on with the second part of the Blood Hunters series. Hopefully it will be available in spring 2016. You know, the Blood Hunters series only exists because of my readers. After finishing the Immortal Blood series I was ready to let go of those characters but my readers literally blocked my inbox with demands for me to continue writing the series. So, an idea popped into my head and I created a sister series for it, of course with the most popular characters in it. The Blood Hunters series follows nicely up where the Immortal Blood series ended.

Who would you cast to play the characters in a movie?

This is a hard question! As an author I have a clear image of what my characters look like so it’s not so easy to find a perfect mach for my imaginary cast BUT I think young Emma Watson or Lily Collins might be the perfect choice as Shannon McLean, Dylan McDermott or Daniel Di Tomasso as Connor McLean and let’s see…young Ben Barnes or Matt Lanter as Ian McLean… I’ve actually put some of my thoughts down and created boards for my imaginary casts on Pinterest.

Were the plot and subplots completely planned from the start or did they change during the process, and if so, how?_In their perfect little world…_

Not at all! I hardly ever know what is gonna happen in the story when I start writing it. Sure, I have the outlines done, but anything can happen during the process and that’s the fun part of it!

What is your main reason for writing?

It’s a perfect escape from the reality. A therapeutic way of solving some of my real life issues.

What are the best and the worst aspects of writing?

Every choice is mine… That said, also every mistake is mine. I’m very, very pedantic with my work and that is why I have an excellent team to take care of me and my writing. If I didn’t I’d be lost in the endless circle of editing, deleting and re-writing. I honestly need someone to say when I’ve reached the limit and the story is as good as it gets.

How do you balance marketing one book and writing the next?_Shannon got up and grinned venomously…_

Oh, it’s a trick I’m still trying to learn. Usually after finishing a new story I take some time to gain my strength, plot the next story and market as much as I possibly can.

Who are your editors and how do you quality control your books?

My editor is Amanda Burfoot. She does the final editing as well as proofreads my work. However, I have an army of critics, alpha readers, beta readers and bloggers to make sure I’m on a right path. Since I’ve made this stubborn, reckless decision to write in English, which by the way is not my native language, I couldn’t survive without outsourcing some parts of the writing process.

How have you found the experience of self-publishing? What were your highs and lows?

I’ve tried both with a publisher and on my own, and so far on my own is the best way for me. It is lots and lots of work, but the pace, working with a bunch of incredibly talented people and the last say on my own work…yep, the feeling is priceless. Does that mean I’m alone on this? Not at all! Quite the opposite. I’ve been lucky to team up with couple of great publishing company, marketing teams and some quite helpful social media gurus. Yeah, you’re one of them, Christoph! Thanks for having me around J

What is your advice to new writers?

You, and only you, can make it happen!

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

The Shadows by J.R. Ward and it’s a hardcover. I have to confess I’m not so into e-books. Sure I read them but if I’m not in a hurry I take great pleasure in holding a book in my hands whilst reading.

What makes you laugh?

A lot of things. My friends, a funny story, an episode of the Big Bang Theory…tickling…a bottle of wine (or at least I’ll be laughing after drinking it 😉 )…

What (not who) would you like to take to a lonely island?

I’d say my laptop but since it would be rather pointless as there most likely is no power point where I could charge it, I’m gonna say a hammock. In that way I at least would have a comfortable place to daydream.

Hot or cold?

Hot

Salty or sweet?

Salty

What would your friends say are your best and your oddest quality?

Hmm…well, I guess I’m a loyal friend but a bit off…you know, one foot in this world the other…not sure where but definitely not here

What would you chose as those qualities?

I’m definitely diligent. I prefer doing things correctly from the start. It may take a bit longer but I don’t like going back and correcting unnecessary mistakes. My oddest quality…I’d have to go with what said before. Since I see the world a bit differently than most of the people I’m not always 100% committed to the reality.

Tell us about your other books?

All of my books have paranormal aspects; shape shifters, vampires, witches, demons…They are meant for teen or young adult readers and will definitely make you wanna keep the lights on after reading them. I have a lot of series, so I guess you could call me a serial writer J The Immortal Blood, and its follow up, The Blood Hunters, are suspenseful, sassy vampire series. The McLean Twins series is a wicked witch story with hints of black magic in it, and the Shape Shifter series is a heartbreaking love story with unexpected heroes.

How do you handle criticism of your work?Author pic_ Jennifer Loiske

Constructive criticism is always welcome, but if someone is being just mean I’ll ignore it. I don’t really read the reviews of my books. Like Stephanie Meyer said, “If you don’t like something an author writes, there are 40 million other books out there, or you can write your own book.”

 

 

Author links:

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJenniferLoiske

https://twitter.com/jenniferloiske

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5821849.Jennifer_Loiske

http://www.amazon.com/Jennifer-Loiske/e/B0054QIXPY

https://jenniferloiske.wordpress.com

https://fi.pinterest.com/authorjloiske/

Author Bio:

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a Teen/YA paranormal fiction author, with four exciting series available worldwide. The McLean Twins series for teen readers, the Immortal Blood series for mature young adult readers, the Blood Hunters series, also for mature young adults, which is a follow-up for the Immortal Blood series and is created by the readers’ requests, and the Shape Shifter series for anyone aged 16 and up.

Jennifer’s stories are full of creatures of the night. Vampires, demons, witches, shape shifters… but even if they are mostly fiction you can find a hint of truth in every story. Jennifer loves to research, so every time she gets an idea or a new story she has a crazy Google session, looking for places, old myths, names, folklore, magical items… anything that could spice up her story and make it more real for the readers. Jennifer is also part of Authors For Charity, an international author alliance, and a team member of Epilepsy FI magazine. She is a pre-school teacher by profession.

