11131790_855398377854569_532459211_nToday I’m making an excursion into almost unchartered territory on this blog: Poetry, blended with fantasy and fairytales. Let me introduce William O’Brien and his “Peter: The World” Series. Here is my introduction to his latest opus, followed by an interview with the author:

“Peter: The World – Short Poems and Tiny Thoughts” is a collection of 26 poems based upon the surreal, magical story Peter: A Darkened Fairytale.

Inside these pages, you will find whimsical poems of ‘The Light’ and forewarning of ‘The Dark’. The tale of Peter has inspired several books of which Peter: The World is the third publication and there are many more adventures soon to be released.

So, take a walk with wizards, dream of stars, drink blood with vampires and never ever listen to demons. If you look closely, you may even see sweet fairies hiding in your garden – tucked behind violet flowers. But, do be careful, they just may be vampire fairies.

Interview with William

Tell us a little about yourself as writer, poet and as person.

Hi Christoph –  Thank you for inviting me to your blog.11106490_855398581187882_1399144104_n

I find most things interesting – I like to explore many facets of life. I guess, I stumbled on writing by chance – it wasn’t anything that I considered throughout school or college years. Writing seemed to stem from interests – then, I wanted to write. I feel comfortable writing fiction and non-fiction in most areas/genres. I have a varied background in the arts and sciences, although my education is mainly in science disciplines, I love the arts. Poetry happened purely by accident, I felt it and it seemed to flow.

Tell us about your writing history. When was the first time you decided to write and when was the first time you did?

Over 20 years ago, I used to write health & fitness articles and had over 20 published. I took a long break from writing and I started jotting notes down again. I always wanted to write a book and almost 4 years ago I published my first book ‘Peter’. Since then, I have published nine books and have more ideas in line for future projects.

Did anyone influence you / encourage you to become a writer?

No – not that I can consciously remember.

Tell us about your poems and your creative process.

I run with words as they feel, as they come to me. The logical thought is applied later, much later, when things are more fully developed.

What are you working on now? 

The next Peter story and a dark poetry book based on the other Peter volumes. Also, several other books – a thriller/sci-fi, historical fiction and another couple that are still in the organic process.

What is your main reason for writing?

I just feel like it is something I have to do.

What are the best and the worst aspects of writing?

(i)  It is nice to know I have created something myself.

(ii) The endless hours of thinking.

How do you balance marketing one book and writing the next?

It is difficult – I work in a crazy mesh of confusion but it seems to work for me.

How do you handle criticism of your work?

I believe if you don’t get some critisism, you must be keeping everyone happy – if everyone is happy, you have not created anything beyond average and accepted.

What do you do when you don’t write?

D.I.Y. I live in an old house – there is always something to fix.

What makes you laugh?

Monte Python

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Hannibal Lecter

What is your advice to new writers?

Write, write, write and keep writing. Listen to the opinion of others but don’t let them steer your ship.

Who are your favourite authors?

Lewis Carroll and Oscar Wilde

What is your favourite book?

Alice in Wonderland

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

Half Bad by Sally Green (paperback) witten with an interesting perspective and highly descriptive.

Thank you for having me over.

Permafree book (Peter: The World)  myBook.to/Peter_World 

All Amazon books:  Author.to/WilliamOBrien_amz …

FB: https://www.facebook.com/authorwilliamobrien?pnref=lhc

“Peter, A Darkened Fairytale” by William O’Brien is a wonderful and magical story.
Unsuspecting young Peter finds himself in a world of elfs, dragons and all kinds of fantasy creatures. One quest leads to the next and before you know it Peter and us readers have covered a world full of known and unknown creatures.
The author has done an amazing job making us witness the world from a young boys perspective. This is a fantasy adventure nothing short of the wonders of Narnia or Alice.
On a deeper level the book seems to be about finding your inner talents, your strengths and your faith in yourself. I loved the way Peter takes on the tasks ahead, learns and grows up during his journey.
The tone is often quirky and not at all as dark as I had come to expect. Although there are evil or slightly scary characters in the story, it remains a fun read that should please young and young at heart. If I had children I would read them this story. Peter is a remarkable and lovely character.
O’Brien is a creative and talented story teller who should do very well with this and his next stories. Very enjoyable.

A children’s novel- PETER: A Darkened Fairytale
Rough age range 11-13, fun for adults too!

In a quiet sleepy place nestle a few tiny houses, a bridge, and a handful of shops. Unknown to Peter, on one particular morning – the morning of his tenth birthday -will reveal more than just the usual collection of presents. Stumbling into a secret place, he travels through many hidden worlds and embarks upon a fantastic journey. Hally the lifelongian, Arnica the maiden, Wind Sail the white witch and a beautiful elf called Slip will all guide him on his quest.

Searching through the Purple Forest, Peter makes haste to rescue a friend, which proves more difficult than Peter could ever imagine. The gentle tale soon finds its way into some very dark places as the evil Cirinian and her followers try to thwart Peter’s progress. Guards, ghosts, spirits and vampirism add to the unknown dimensions that Peter encounters.

A creation of surreal places and characters, Peter: A Darkened Fairytale is an exciting and imaginative fantasy trip from beginning to end.

A drawer is a drawer, and a door is a door, one way in and one way out. What… not sure? A time in space has now arrived for some readers passing by and travelling through in a blip of time, goes so quick, like this rhyme. The thoughts one thinks may not be real and sometimes they will make you squeal. Biting, scratching, tastes hang true, inside this story you’ll meet things new. Must be careful, for if you fall those evildoers will seize all. Taking bodies and minds of prey, trapped, entombed as darkness flays. If by chance you are done, chase the light chosen one. Staring from those eyes so bright, view things given with new sight. For all that see, avoid the dark, a new path is shown near the park. A secret there for all that be, if you’re brave enough, open me!

For all those imaginative souls A fascinating tale takes the reader on a true flight of fantasy into amazing far-off lands, dramatically expanding the imagination and touching the heart. An exploration of the senses is tantalised through the many unusual characters, while exploring alternate realities. A placid opening of the mystical realms should not be underestimated as they soon lead off and reach into some of the darkest corners of the mind. A gentle fairytale twists along its path into an unusual and disturbed adventure

GR:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4619644.William_O_Brien

